FIOS Router Non-Default IP Address
ASTOWE
Enthusiast - Level 2

I have had FIOS for 3 years now and have always been happy with the service.  However, because of the nosey neighbors - who are computer geeks by profession - it has become necessary for me to add several layers of security to my home network as follows:

Level 1 - SSID Not Broadcast

Level 2 - WPA2 TKIP Hex encryption key - 64 random hex characters and digits

Level 3 - Lock down MAC ID's that can access the system

Level 4 - Assign specific IP addresses to every piece of equipment on the network

Level 5 - Change the default Router IP address to something besides 192.168.1.1 - since, pretty much any **bleep** with the slightest bit of network knowledge knows that this is the default IP address of most wireless routers and can start hacking away at the user name/password, at will.

I was very disappointed to learn from FIOS Tech Support last night that Verizon does not support Level 5 in my security setup.  Austensibly this is because the set top boxes cannot be assigned static IP addresses within the router and have to connect via DHCP to the 100-150 block of the IP address.  In all honesty, assigning a static IP address to a device is not technologically challenging - my Samsung TV can do it and it's 5 years old.  I have the brand new Verizon DVR and it can't do it?

While I understand that Verizon does not want to fix every hyper-technical problem that comes along when people are setting up complex, partitioned networks.  I even understand that they don't want to support a second router on a different subnet.  However, my opinion is that - if they continue to provide the Actiontec Routers to consumers - they should be ready and willing to support all of the technical features that it provides.