FIOS Second Network -- Route Settings
Bill165

I'm new to setting up the Actiontec router to support a second subnet.  First question is do I need a second router or can I add a 192.168.2.1 subnet and connect a PC directly to one of the Actiontec Ethernet interfaces?   I attempted to do so and assigned a static IP address to a PC but with no success.  I wanted to get a PC up and running through the Actiontec before I committed to buying a new router.

Secondly, what should I use for the Actiontec Route Settings for the following.  Please correct where I might be wrong:

Name:

Destination: 0.0.0.0 -- can this be more specific?  Can I point this to the 192.168.1.1 (default) or other subnets for example?

Netmask:  255.255.255.0 assuming a /24 subnet

Gateway: 192.168.2.1

With the above settings I get a "Not Applicable" status for the route.

Hope you can help.

Bill

0 Likes
Re: FIOS Second Network -- Route Settings
tns
Master - Level 2

really pushing it with one router.  Using commercial switches its not unusual to have 192.168.0.x and 192.168.1.x as a single network.  Mask is 255.255.254.0 in such cases.  But the actiontec routers probably can not handle that.

0 Likes
weedeater1
Contributor - Level 3

I think you'll need two routers. The second one points to the first as its gateway.

0 Likes
Hubrisnxs
Legend

wouldn't vlans be a good solution here ?

Another user found a good way to create a vlan,  

does this work for you?

For use with MI424WR Rev A-D, Firmware 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.11)

creating a VLAN, and dedicating one Ethernet
port on the MI424WR’s built in switch for its use.

Part 1 – Creating the VLAN Ethernet Interface
1. Login to the BHR and navigate to ‘My Network’ then ‘Network Connections’
2. At the bottom of the ‘Rule Name’ column click the red ‘Add’
3. Select the underlying device, normally, ‘Network (Home/Office)’ and click ‘Next’
4. Assign the VLAN an ID, can be any number between 1 and 4094 and click ‘Next’