Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Reply
Omen
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 1 of 10
(4,733 Views)

For the past couple of weeks, my FIOS 25/15 service speeds have been cut by at least 50% during the evening. For instance, during the day my DL/UL speeds are 25/21. However, at night, my speeds are reduced to 12/12, sometimes dropping to 6/6 or below. This severe drop in thruput during the night hours is causing me big headaches when streaming content from Netflix. While I can stream perfectly during the day, at night I can barely watch anything at all. It's very frustrating and reminds me of my old Comcast high-speed cable service that was over-allocated. Comcast would do the same thing at night, dropping thruput when everyone was on the internet. I got FIOS because they told me this wouldn't happen.

 

Is anyone else having problems with thruput in the evening? Could it be a problem with the FIOS equipment at my location, or is it a more global Verizon problem?

 

Thanks….Michael

 

 

9 REPLIES 9
dslr595148
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,045
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 2 of 10
(4,693 Views)

#1 If this is a wireless router...

 

a) Do you have computers that use the wireless signal?

 

b) Do you have some kind of Wireless Security enabled? For example, WEP/WPA

 

#2 If you do not have at least two game consoles behind this router, turn off UPnP in the router.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

ScuseMe
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 3 of 10
(4,631 Views)

I'm on a wired connection doing the test.. My PS3 (only game machine) is connected wirelessly. Does #2 apply here?

dslr595148
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,045
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 4 of 10
(4,610 Views)

 


@ScuseMe wrote:

My PS3 (only game machine) is connected wirelessly. Does #2 apply here?


Yes, I would believe so.

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 5 of 10
(4,546 Views)

Since Netflix will work with slow speeds (they recommend 3+ but my dads 1.5 DSL works fine with Netflix) I think your speed issue is just a symptom of another problem. Because even at 6/6 your netflix should be operating normally.

 

What I would do is when the internet is working normally, run a trace route to see what normal looks like. Then when the internet slows down. Run another trace route to see if there are any changes that may be affecting your performance.

 

 

To run a trace route from Windows XP or Vista you open the command prompt (press the windows key + R and type cmd into the window)

 

Once the command prompt is open. Type

 

tracert www.google.com                  (I'm using google as an example, can be any website you wish, but google is a good test bed)

 

Then copy the results to both here so we can see if there are any issues showing on the network.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
proxieme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-20-2010

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 6 of 10
(4,469 Views)
Heya - I'm having a similar problem - it's gotten to the point at which I can stream /nothing/. Points: * I have a Roku, a PS3 (not usually on), and 2 computers connected wirelessly. * I have never had a problem (have been able to effortlessly stream video) - until the last couple of days. * I'm paying for FiOS Internet up to 15 Mbps/5Mbps. * The In-Home Agent's speed test will not complete, but CNET's test is clocking my speed at ~1830kbs earlier tonight (approx 11 PM EST). * The speed was just clocked at 2032.9 kbps. I traced Google as you suggested and got the following: __________________________ Tracing route to www.l.google.com [72.14.204.104] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 <1 ms <1 ms 8 ms WL.home [192.168.2.1] 2 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1 3 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 172.27.35.1 4 5 ms 6 ms 6 ms L100.WASHDC-VFTTP-74.verizon-gni.net [72.66.118. 1] 5 5 ms 6 ms 6 ms G3-1-574.WASHDC-LCR-05.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1 05.252] 6 8 ms 6 ms 11 ms so-4-2-0-0.LCC1-RES-BB-RTR1-RE1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.28.144] 7 10 ms 10 ms 8 ms 0.xe-8-0-0.BR2.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.34.1] 8 8 ms 11 ms 9 ms xe-10-1-0.edge1.Washington4.level3.net [4.68.63. 245] 9 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms ae-3-89.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.14 4] 10 9 ms 11 ms 9 ms GOOGLE-INC.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.23 1.6] 11 13 ms 11 ms 11 ms 209.85.240.136 12 11 ms 21 ms 14 ms 66.249.94.54 13 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms iad04s01-in-f104.1e100.net [72.14.204.104] Trace complete. ____________________________ Translation? You could tell me that the above means that my hair's on fire and I'd believe you. Thank you for any help.
proxieme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-20-2010

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 7 of 10
(4,467 Views)
Ack - I'm not sure what happened to my formatting. Here it is again molded into readable form: Heya - I'm having a similar problem - it's gotten to the point at which I can stream /nothing/. Points: * I have a Roku, a PS3 (not usually on), and 2 computers connected wirelessly. * I have never had a problem (have been able to effortlessly stream video) - until the last couple of days. * I'm paying for FiOS Internet up to 15 Mbps/5Mbps. * The In-Home Agent's speed test will not complete, but CNET's test is clocking my speed at ~1830kbs earlier tonight (approx 11 PM EST). * The speed was just clocked at 2032.9 kbps. I traced Google as you suggested and got the following: __________________________ Tracing route to www.l.google.com [72.14.204.104] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 <1 ms <1 ms 8 ms WL.home [192.168.2.1] 2 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1 3 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 172.27.35.1 4 5 ms 6 ms 6 ms L100.WASHDC-VFTTP-74.verizon-gni.net [72.66.118. 1] 5 5 ms 6 ms 6 ms G3-1-574.WASHDC-LCR-05.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1 05.252] 6 8 ms 6 ms 11 ms so-4-2-0-0.LCC1-RES-BB-RTR1-RE1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.28.144] 7 10 ms 10 ms 8 ms 0.xe-8-0-0.BR2.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.34.1] 8 8 ms 11 ms 9 ms xe-10-1-0.edge1.Washington4.level3.net [4.68.63. 245] 9 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms ae-3-89.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.14 4] 10 9 ms 11 ms 9 ms GOOGLE-INC.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.23 1.6] 11 13 ms 11 ms 11 ms 209.85.240.136 12 11 ms 21 ms 14 ms 66.249.94.54 13 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms iad04s01-in-f104.1e100.net [72.14.204.104] Trace complete. ____________________________ Translation? You could tell me that the above means that my hair's on fire and I'd believe you. Thank you for any help.
proxieme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-20-2010

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 8 of 10
(4,464 Views)
OK, not sure why it keeps frakking my formatting 😕 I'd still appreciate any help if you can make your way through the run-on paragraph.
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 9 of 10
(4,416 Views)

It looks like your trace route is completing fine with no times over 15ms. Try the Verizon speed test or speedtest.net. Some test sites are so overburdened with tests, they can not give accurate results. Many just choke on FiOS speeds. It could be during peak times those test sites are just overworked.

 

http://www2.verizon.net/micro/speedtest/java/

 

http://speedtest.net/

 

FiOS Speed Test

Speed Test Analysis Information

Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
SendBufferSize set to [522720]
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 36.95Mb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 35.70Mb/s
spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: FIOS thruput cut in half during the evening

Message 10 of 10
(4,396 Views)

Here you go..

 

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [72.14.204.104] over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 <1 ms <1 ms 8 ms WL.home [192.168.2.1]
2 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
3 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 172.27.35.1
4 5 ms 6 ms 6 ms L100.WASHDC-VFTTP-74.verizon-gni.net [72.66.118. 1]
5 5 ms 6 ms 6 ms G3-1-574.WASHDC-LCR-05.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1 05.252]
6 8 ms 6 ms 11 ms so-4-2-0-0.LCC1-RES-BB-RTR1-RE1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.28.144]
7 10 ms 10 ms 8 ms 0.xe-8-0-0.BR2.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.34.1]
8 8 ms 11 ms 9 ms xe-10-1-0.edge1.Washington4.level3.net [4.68.63. 245]
9 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms ae-3-89.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.14 4]
10 9 ms 11 ms 9 ms GOOGLE-INC.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.23 1.6]
11 13 ms 11 ms 11 ms 209.85.240.136
12 11 ms 21 ms 14 ms 66.249.94.54
13 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms iad04s01-in-f104.1e100.net [72.14.204.104]

 

 

The numbers your trace route look perfect. Doesnt look like a network routing issue. Try a few different speedtest sites like suggested above..

 

speedtest.verizon.net

www.speedtest.net

www.speakeasy.net/speedtest

 

Also try rebooting and resetting your router. Those are the basics to check first.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.