FiOS G-1100 Simple port forwarding rule does not work
jjd2281

Some things never change...

I can create a simple port forward that for example maps external port 8080 to an internal port 8080 (8080 > 8080) and it works fine.

But if I create a port forwarding rule on the advanced tab to map a specific external port to a different internal port, for example 8080 > 3389, the rule is created and I can assign it to a server under port forwarding, buit it does NOT work. I'm a 20 year network professional so I assure you it's not user error. What is happening here? Is this Verizon's way of forcing me to pay to upgrade to a better router?

0 Likes
Re: FiOS G-1100 Simple port forwarding rule does not work
jonjones1
Legend

Verizon doesn’t have a better router. You have their best on G1100

if you switch to a better router line a Asus, Netgear or TP-link they do not offer support.

i recommend you get rid of the Quantum if you have internet only. If you have tv you would still need it or adapters to see the vod and guide.

0 Likes
Re: FiOS G-1100 Simple port forwarding rule does not work
Edg1
Community Leader
Community Leader

@jjd2281 wrote:

Some things never change...

I can create a simple port forward that for example maps external port 8080 to an internal port 8080 (8080 > 8080) and it works fine.

But if I create a port forwarding rule on the advanced tab to map a specific external port to a different internal port, for example 8080 > 3389, the rule is created and I can assign it to a server under port forwarding, buit it does NOT work. I'm a 20 year network professional so I assure you it's not user error. What is happening here? Is this Verizon's way of forcing me to pay to upgrade to a better router?

Are you running FiOS in a business or is this your home? As the previous poster said this Verizon most up to date router.