FiOS G3100 Ethernet to Linksys gigabit switch drops connections, but direct connection OK

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

FiOS G3100 Ethernet to Linksys gigabit switch drops connections, but direct connection OK

Message 1 of 4
(501 Views)

Hi,

 

I’m trying to diagnose a problem where the FiOS G3100 router randomly drops all the Ethernet connections out of my Linksys 16-port gigabit Ethernet switch (SE3016). 

The strange thing is that a direct connection from the G3100 to any of my Ethernet devices works great. However, if I put the Linksys switch in the path, my Ethernet connections randomly drop. My WiFi connections are rock solid, and never disconnect.

 

I’m on my 3rd Linksys switch and my 2nd G3100, but the results are the same. I’ve even tried changing out the Ethernet cables, but no luck. My ONT is right next to the G3100, so I can easily replace the ONT Ethernet cable, but that too makes no difference. I went so far as to swap out my G3100 with my old G1100, but the Ethernet connection still drops. So I don’t think its a problem with the G1100/G3100, nor the wiring.

 

I have a gigabit internet connection, along with FiOS TV and digital voice. I want to use the Ethernet connection to stream HD movies from my server (WiFi speeds are too slow). 


At this point, I don’t know what to do/try next. Any ideas from the folks here would be greatly appreciated!

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,014
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: FiOS G3100 Ethernet to Linksys gigabit switch drops connections, but direct connection OK

Message 2 of 4
(481 Views)

#1 Your network layout is

 

ONT -> G3100 -> SE3016 -> Your computers

 

?

 

#2 Check the lights of the SE3016. They should be

  • System LED - Blue
  • Link/Act - Green

#3 Your G3100 has DHCP Enabled?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

Re: FiOS G3100 Ethernet to Linksys gigabit switch drops connections, but direct connection OK

Message 3 of 4
(476 Views)

#1 Your network layout is

 

ONT -> G3100 -> SE3016 -> Your computers

 

Yes

 

#2 Check the lights of the SE3016. They should be

  • System LED - Blue
  • Link/Act - Green

Yes


#3 Your G3100 has DHCP Enabled?

 

Yes

 

* I also tried using 2 Linksys 8-port switches connected together. I get the same results. 

Highlighted
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,014
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: FiOS G3100 Ethernet to Linksys gigabit switch drops connections, but direct connection OK

Message 4 of 4
(368 Views)

Detected your other thread at https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r32792049-Networking-G3100-Ethernet-to-Linksys-switch-drops-connect...

 

I agree with the last post (6/21/2020) in that thread, that an idea is to check the Duplex setting.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.