FiOS Internet and Ethernet Question
slazhole1
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hey Everyone. 

I am a noob at this, so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I live in a stacked condo - occupying the top two levels. I have my router in my family room (3rd floor). I want to use cat5 port that's located in our office in the 4th floor. How can I go about utilizing the cat5 port for internet? The ONT is in the garage. 

I router is currently connected to a COAX cable on the wall. It's not feasible to connect an ethernet cable from the office all the way to the router in the family room. Also, putting the router where the ONT is in the garage will severely limit my wireless connection. Do I need to have a Verizon tech come and assist? 

Thanks in advance. 

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: FiOS Internet and Ethernet Question
gs0b
Community Leader
Community Leader

@slazhole wrote:

Sorry for the confusion. I do not have a coax connection in the office. Instead, there's an Ethernet port on the wall. I connected my laptop to it via an Ethernet cable to see if I get internet. No dice - so I am assuming the cat5 port is not connected to anything. The ONT is located in the garage whereas the cat5 port is located in the 4th floor. I am assuming where the ONT is located is the "central" wiring closet. I do not have any other cat5 ports located around the house. I can take pictures if it would help.

Again, I lack knowledge in this, so sorry in advance!

To use the Ethernet port in your office you'll need to find the other end.  It is probably near where your phone lines come into your home.  Once you find it, you'll want to connect it to either the ONT or the router.  Which one depends on one key question: do you have FiOS TV?