×

Switch Account

FiOS Quantum Gateway - Edit Port Forwarding Entries

FiOS Quantum Gateway - Edit Port Forwarding Entries

Reply
Copper Contributor toxicman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2014
Message 1 of 16
(15,507 Views)

New to FiOS. Installer provided the new Quantum Gateway. 

 

Can't seem to figure out how to edit Port Forward entries on this gateway.  Seems I can only add or delete them.  But once created, no way to edit them to change. So to change anything, I have to delete the existing entry and recreate it.  Pain in the ARSE.

 

Many other awefull interface usage issues on this gateway.  Definately a lot of room for improvement. 

 

...Also couldn't find anywhere to update firmware, so I'm guessing Verizon has no plans to ever release updates for this gateway...

 

Can't Edit DHCP Address Reservations

Can't Edit Port Foward assignments

Can't Release Address Reservations

Can't Convert DHCP Lease to a Reservation AND change the IP you'd like to assign (can convert to a reservation, but only using the IP dynamically assigned originally)

Can't sort tables

Sorting appears to always be based on MAC address, can't sort by IP or Name.

 

Am I missing something?

 

 

15 REPLIES 15
Copper Contributor toxicman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2014
Message 2 of 16
(15,442 Views)

Guess I'm alone on this.  Not many of you have this model of gateway yet I suspect...

Employee Employee
Employee
Posts: 3,184
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
Message 3 of 16
(15,369 Views)

Hi Toxicman,

 

Are you still having this issue?  If you are, can you send us a Private Message so we can get some of your account details to assist?

 

~Jess

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 4 of 16
(15,351 Views)

@toxicman wrote:

New to FiOS. Installer provided the new Quantum Gateway. 

 

Can't seem to figure out how to edit Port Forward entries on this gateway.  Seems I can only add or delete them.  But once created, no way to edit them to change. So to change anything, I have to delete the existing entry and recreate it.  Pain in the ARSE.

 

Many other awefull interface usage issues on this gateway.  Definately a lot of room for improvement. 

 

...Also couldn't find anywhere to update firmware, so I'm guessing Verizon has no plans to ever release updates for this gateway...

 

Can't Edit DHCP Address Reservations

Can't Edit Port Foward assignments

Can't Release Address Reservations

Can't Convert DHCP Lease to a Reservation AND change the IP you'd like to assign (can convert to a reservation, but only using the IP dynamically assigned originally)

Can't sort tables

Sorting appears to always be based on MAC address, can't sort by IP or Name.

 

Am I missing something?

 

 


You don't mention what router it is you have.

If it's the new Actiontec rev I you are quite correct - there is no apparent way to edit PF rules -  totally user unfriendly

 

Copper Contributor toxicman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2014
Message 5 of 16
(15,343 Views)
The router is the Quantum Gateway. Not an action tech. Don't know who makes this.
Copper Contributor toxicman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2014
Message 6 of 16
(15,338 Views)
Yes jess. I am. If could simply post the instructions here to benefit all the readers of this thread that would be great. I don't think a call is needed.
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 7 of 16
(15,098 Views)

I have the same router and the only way I did it was by disconnecting the STB's and then hard reset the router with the red button in the back of the router. 

Contributor MerrickJoe
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-02-2015
Message 8 of 16
(14,021 Views)

Jess,

I'm having port forwarding issues to with the quantum router.

 

Can you get a hold of me?  I don't know how to pm you.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor BradenMcDaniel
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-22-2014
Message 9 of 16
(13,914 Views)

The user guide for this router (understandable if you haven't discovered it) covers port forwarding.

 

The UI is indeed a bit awkward; but it does work.

 

Contributor Apesbrain
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-12-2015
Message 10 of 16
(13,385 Views)

The Advanced Port Forwarding page has more settings than I'm used to with my previous Netgear router.  Say I want any incoming WAN HTTP requests on 8080 to go to a server on my network and simply get a reply.  How would I set that up?  Thanks.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.