Re: FiOS Quantum Gateway Router - Intermittent Dropped Connections
dbusicchia1

My issues are similar, let me explain in detail as I am also an IT professional.  My wireless devices ( a combination of Android, iOS, MacOS, Windows) maintains a fairly high level of signal strength through out my 1600 sf apartment.  My mobile devices "freeze" when the wireless link loses connection to the internet, the wireless link does not go down, it has something to do with the software running on the FIOS Quantum Gateway G1100.  The internal radio seems to be functioning correctly, it keeps the wireless devices connected regardless of the WAN link being stable or not.  The interconnects between the 2.5/5.0 GHz radios and the router functions looks to be the culprit, looks like when the router is under moderate load the software tries to bounce hosts from one radio signal to another but doesn't do so seemlessly, an example of tis process working correctly would be a vMotion of a VM from one hypervisor to another, the VM is moved to another physical server but never notices if the system is configured correctly, the FIOS software doesn't seem to be able to handle this very well but is almost impossible to disable unless you only want to run a single radio signal, 2.5 GHz for distance or 5 GHz for speed, the later basically ties you to the room the router is in.  The problem here is Verizon not keeping customer satisfaction as top priority and pushing substandard hardware on its customers.  The alternative to this is to buy a good wireless router from brands such as Asus, Netgear, or Linksys (Cisco) to name a few, disable the wireless radios on the FIOS router and just use the wired ports for your own router to connect to, you will at least get 1 GigE up to the ONT and throttled down to your subscribed bandwidth.  Maybe Verizon will see the light soon and offer better hardware produced by industry leaders rather than bargain bucket manufacturers

0 Likes
ravibklyn