FiOS backhaul bandwidth issue
JC-NYC
Enthusiast - Level 3

What can we do when the problem is with the FiOS backhaul?

During peak evening hours (7pm to 4am), I have Internet access for 20 seconds or so at a time with a few minutes of outage in between.

Any established TCP traffic continues to work while any new browser pages will fail.

I have been on the phone with Verizon support for about 6-8 times in the last 3 weeks.

Each time they blame something else at my location.

They even came to replace my ONT.

I keep telling them it is a bandwidth issue at the backhaul to the Internet.

What can be done?

Who do we call?

Every phone call ends with a tier-1 telling me to either reboot my router, replace my cable, power cycle the ONT, etc.

There has never been a lost link connection between my ONT and router.

My profession is Director of Network Infrastructures but the phone tech continues to treat me like I have lot my mind when I explain the technology to them.

So **bleep** frustrating.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: workaround - FiOS backhaul bandwidth issues
JC-NYC
Enthusiast - Level 3

Steps:

1. log into the Verizon router

2. navigate to the Broadband Conenctions page

3. select Advanced settings

4. Release your current IP address

5. wait a few seconds

6. click Renew to get a new IP address

7. check to see if you did receive a new IP address

This is only a temporary fix to give you access for a few minutes before that backhaul gateway is saturated and drops your packets.  BUT it will let you get that e-mail out.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Re: FiOS backhaul bandwidth issue
JC-NYC
Enthusiast - Level 3

And now for the 3rd time Verizon is "dispatching a technician".

I said "for what?"

The issue does not occur at 8am or 10am or 2pm.

It happens at 9pm at night.

And the fiber has tested clean 100% by 2 technicians already.

The ONT has been replaced.

The router has been replaced.