×

Switch Account

Fios Internet cannot connect to some Chinese websites

Fios Internet cannot connect to some Chinese websites

SOLVED
Reply
Copper Contributor qiantom
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2008
Message 1 of 10
(1,570 Views)

They were fine last week and I can still connect from work but not at home using Fios.

Examples: www.eastmoney.com; www.jrj.com.cn; www.163.com.

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 2 of 10
(1,562 Views)

Seems to be connecting fine over here. I had trouble getting jrj.com.cn to load up - seems my DNS provider was having trouble pulling in the site's DNS records. To be sure this is a timeout issue or a case where the page never completes loading?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor qiantom
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2008
Message 3 of 10
(1,553 Views)

My chrome said it could not find the website. When I tried to ping the address, it also returns "could not find host www.jrj.com.cn".

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 4 of 10
(1,547 Views)

None of those sites load on my fios in NY.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor qiantom
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2008
Message 5 of 10
(1,525 Views)

Looks like I am not alone. I contacted Verizon tech, who tried to solve the problem remotely for 2 hrs and it didn't work. I don't know where the problem is.

Highlighted
Contributor Naki
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2014
Message 6 of 10
(1,505 Views)

Same problem here in NJ. Can't open any of the sites you provided, and I've been having trouble accessing www.xoyo.com since last week. I have a friend who lives in a different town in NJ but he's accessing just fine, though. Perhaps it something regional?

 

This is my traceroute result, timedout on hop 5:

 

C:\>tracert xoyo.com

Tracing route to xoyo.com [58.83.211.142]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 6 ms 4 ms 2 ms Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
2 5 ms 14 ms 7 ms L100.NWRKNJ-VFTTP-101.verizon-gni.net {edited for privacy}
3 24 ms 14 ms 22 ms G0-9-2-6.NWRKNJ-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1
09.126]
4 8 ms 11 ms 29 ms 130.81.199.14
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 84 ms 83 ms 87 ms 0.ae1.XL3.LAX1.ALTER.NET [140.222.227.69]
11 74 ms 75 ms 77 ms 0.xe-10-1-0.GW2.LAX1.ALTER.NET [152.63.4.181]
12 83 ms 103 ms 79 ms Internet-gw.customer.alter.net [157.130.246.162]

13 72 ms 70 ms 80 ms 202.97.90.21
14 219 ms 220 ms 218 ms 202.97.52.5
15 265 ms 224 ms 224 ms 202.97.58.85
16 228 ms 230 ms 225 ms 202.97.53.169
17 244 ms 242 ms 247 ms 202.97.65.82
18 258 ms 256 ms 256 ms 218.30.69.9
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 292 ms 269 ms 270 ms 123.139.3.165
22 290 ms 292 ms 287 ms 124.251.254.6
23 272 ms 270 ms 271 ms 211.151.224.105
24 277 ms 254 ms 264 ms 211.151.128.46
25 290 ms 302 ms 290 ms 211.151.128.13
26 274 ms 272 ms 273 ms 58.83.232.21
27 327 ms 326 ms 324 ms 58.83.232.102
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\>

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor Naki
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2014
Message 7 of 10
(1,504 Views)

I've contacted Verizon several times in the past week, every time they propose a different issue.

 

At first I called and a lady said it was Verizon blocking the website (for some reason I can't recall).

 

2nd try was a remote access session and the tech said it was the website's problem. 

 

Finally 3rd try today in another remote access session, the tech said Verizon doesn't block any website from user access, after seeing the traceroute result he said it's a problem on their said and had a ticket put in for me. Fingers crossed for the next 2 days. 

 

Btw, I also had my IP renewed, which apparently didn't have anything to do with the problem. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 8 of 10
(1,486 Views)

They all load fine with no issues from here - I'm near Boston.

 

I use open dns for dns servers rather than the verizon supplied ones.  I suggest you look up the nearest open dns servers addresses to where you are and use them - either replace the addresses in the router or override them on the nix settings in your machine.  You could try using the google dns servers in the same way also.

Highlighted
Contributor Naki
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2014
Message 9 of 10
(1,467 Views)

OMG I changed by DNS to Google DNS and it worked! I can open my websites now, thanks for the suggestion! 😄

Highlighted
Copper Contributor qiantom
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2008
Message 10 of 10
(1,460 Views)

I changed the DNS also and it worked. Many thanks to viafax999. Verizon tech should have been more helpful though.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.