Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Fios Network Extender

Reply
laurenbarth31
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

Fios Network Extender

Message 1 of 6
(1,903 Views)

Hi,

I just got my network extender. My router is in the basement so I need it to improve the connection upstairs on the second floor of my house since it keeps cutting out. I don't have any coax outlets in my house so I need to hook up the extender via ethernet. When I plug in the ethernet. the lights on the extender are green and the network shows up on my laptop but it says No Internet. How can I fix this?

5 REPLIES 5
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,955
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fios Network Extender

Message 2 of 6
(1,898 Views)

Can you plug your laptop into the other ethernet port on the extender and see if you can get out. What router do you have in the basement? Did the extender clone the routers SSID and password?

laurenbarth31
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

Re: Fios Network Extender

Message 3 of 6
(1,849 Views)

I have the Quantum Gateway router in my basement.

It doesn't make a difference which port I plug the ethernet into. Both of them say No Internet. When I open the wifi connections on my laptop, it's labeled as "Unidentified network" and when I click on it, it opens the settings but it doesn't ask for the password.

laurenbarth31
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

Re: Fios Network Extender

Message 4 of 6
(1,845 Views)

When I click Diagnose, the message that it gives me is "ethernet doesn't have a valid ip configuration"

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fios Network Extender

Message 5 of 6
(1,837 Views)

What model extender is it?

I believe Verizon extenders expect internet to come in via coax


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,955
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fios Network Extender

Message 6 of 6
(1,814 Views)

How about can you turn off wifi on your laptop. Take the extender down to the router and use a small ethernet cord to connect to it. Then plug your laptop into the other ethernet port on the extender. 

If you still can get out the reset extender in the back with a pen and try again. You should be able to get out. Once it is configured you should see it clone to your router's wifi. By default the wifi on extender will be HOME-xxxxx.

When you know it is done and you can get out move it back upstairs and try it again  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title