Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Fios extender problem

SOLVED
Reply
Cognin
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-23-2020

Fios extender problem

Message 1 of 5
(1,300 Views)

I purchased & received 2 WCB6200Q Extenders from Fios , it seems fine. But I have found out only one works, if I turned off one of them, and power on the other one, it will work but only one will work, the first power on one.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,939
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fios extender problem

Message 4 of 5
(1,168 Views)

Ok great. The only reason I mentioned the set-top boxes is because if you have older 2500s or 6200/6416s models they will limit the MoCA clients to 7 total. This includes 1 for the router, 2 for the extenders, and however many set-top boxes you have connected. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,939
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fios extender problem

Message 2 of 5
(1,257 Views)

It sounds like a MoCA issue. Do you have FiOS TV as well? If so, do you older set-top boxes? When both turned on is the coax light on?

Cognin
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-23-2020

Re: Fios extender problem

Message 3 of 5
(1,229 Views)

Yes, I do have Fios TV and phone.  I did notice the second extender coax light was off, so I unplug the coax cable, removed the spliter that connects to the TV and extender, connect the extender directly to the cable, now both extender working at the same time ! 

 

Guess just need to find a way to watch TV later. 

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,939
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fios extender problem

Message 4 of 5
(1,169 Views)

Ok great. The only reason I mentioned the set-top boxes is because if you have older 2500s or 6200/6416s models they will limit the MoCA clients to 7 total. This includes 1 for the router, 2 for the extenders, and however many set-top boxes you have connected. 

View solution in original post

Cognin
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-23-2020

Re: Fios extender problem

Message 5 of 5
(1,135 Views)

That makes sense, I do have a few stuff connected to the cable, 😞

 

Thanks for your help.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.