Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Reply
wintercs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Message 1 of 6
(12,980 Views)

I recently had Fios installed and am having some trouble with getting my network-ready printer to play nice.

 

The printer is a Brother HL-2070N and I am running Mac OSX 10.6.  Before I go any further, my Mac has not contributed to the problem, because everything worked just fine when I had my printer connected to my Netgear router pre-Fios.

 

I can "log in" to my printer by using the 192.168... address and can adjust settings there.   When I reset the PrintServer, I can "see" the printer on the network and even print to it--but only for one instance.  After that instance, the printer is essentially nonexistant.

 

I've searched this forum and tried some steps to alleviate this problem including going into the router's setup and assigning a static IP through the advanced menus, and from what I see everything seems fine.  We may need to start at square one, though, just to be sure.

 

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

5 REPLIES 5
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,066
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Message 2 of 6
(12,939 Views)
#1 What is the brand and model of your router?

#2 While I do not know the answer to my question above, I can take an educated guess on something...

In your router you can do this..

* From the main menu, click the "Advanced" icon from the top tool bar.
* Click on the IP Address Distribution link
* Click on the pencil to the right of Network (Home/Office)

?

If so, what is the DHCP range set to?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

BrianMcD
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Message 3 of 6
(12,924 Views)

You may want to try changing the DHCP Range on the Router to Exclude your printer and then manually assigning your printer an address thru the printers menu.

 

Ex: Change the DHCP Range to end at 200 and then assigning the printer 192.168.1.210

 

 

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
wintercs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Message 4 of 6
(12,902 Views)

Thank you for the responses.

 

My range is from 2 to 200

 

How exactly do I assign my printer its own IP address??

 

I found a temporary solution whereby I inputed the exact IP address of the printer and can print that way, but I'd still prefer to find the printer using the traditional methods. 

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,066
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Message 5 of 6
(12,886 Views)
Does this method work...

In the router.

#1 From the main menu, click the "Advanced" icon from the top tool bar.
#2 Click on the IP Address Distribution link
#3 Click on Connection List at the bottom
#4 If you see the printer and it is not a static lease type, click on the pencil and change the lease type to static.

?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

BrianMcD
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Fios printer setup issues--Brother HL-2070n

Message 6 of 6
(12,890 Views)

The Brother www site has a NetworkUser's Guide that you shoudl download:

 

http://welcome.solutions.brother.com/bsc/public/us/us/en/doc/manual_index.html?reg=us&c=us〈=en∏=hl20...

 

The BRAdmin Professional utility is designed to allow you to manage your network connected Brother
printers in a TCP/IP environment.

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title