Flaky Connection
BDMcGrew

I must admit that I'm a little more than unhappy with Verizon right now.  Their technical support is as worthless as **bleep** on a boar and their cusomter service isn't much better!

I've had FiOS for about two months now and it hasn't been reliable for a single day since I had it installed.  I'm a network engineer by trade, so I know what I'm doing and I'm not overly thrilled about having to use their Westell A90-9100EM15-10 router.

I have FiOS coming into the router on Ethernet and I have a Netgear 24-port GigE switch plugged into port #1 on the router.  Wireless is disable.  The MoCA port is active and connected for a bridge to the STB's.  I have 10 computers connected to my Netgear swtich, all using static address and 6 STB's connected to the MoCA, all using dynamic addresses.

No matter what I try I can not maintain a consistant connection to save my life.  Pick any protocol, to any site and transfer.  It'll go along, slow to a crap and then stall for 60 to 90 seconds and then pick up again.  This happens on a very regular basis and I'm not actually loosing connection, it's just stalled.

After numerous calls to technical support, I'm getting the run around, the we don't know, the we've never heard of that.  This happens on all my computers at all hours of the day.  Technical support seems happy that they can see my router and thus deems everything is good.

Has anyone else has such a problem?

0 Likes
Re: Flaky Connection
kevinb
Contributor - Level 2
Have you done any testing to determine where it's stalling?
0 Likes
Re: Flaky Connection
prisaz
Legend