G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-16-2020

G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 1 of 7
(2,261 Views)

Hi,


Will my existing 
WCB6200Q extenders, connected to my G1100 via coax, work with the G3100? If yes, will they continue to work as a SON as it did with the G1100 for roughly the last year?

 

Last, if the answer is no could the WCB6200Qs at least be used as non WiFi extenders for devices connected to them by Ethernet?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-10-2020

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 5 of 7
(1,578 Views)

I couldn't tell you how or why it works, but the following is working for me:

 

ONT - coax - splitter - coax - G3100 router;    then off the splitter, I have coax going to several different rooms.  I have WCB3000N connected to the coax in one of the rooms.  I then plug a laptop into the WCB3000N with ethernet, and I get approximately 75/75 (which is what I currently pay for).   [In fact, I have two WCB3000N devices in two different rooms, and they both work equally well.]

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 2 of 7
(2,235 Views)

Unfortunately no they will not work with the G3100 over the coax. I saw on a previous post someone got them to work connected to the G3100 via ethernet instead. 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 3 of 7
(1,654 Views)

I need to reopen this discussion to seek clarification on G3100's MoCA support.

 

Here are my observations:

 

  • From the manual, G3100 supports MoCA 2.5.
  • Many users have failed to connect WCB6200Q to G3100. Some have failed to connect ECB6200 to G3100. Both of these devices are Bonded MoCA 2.0.
  • Recently, I found someone has successfully connected WCB3000N to G3100 with MoCA 1.1.
  • From the DSLReports, I found someone has successfully connected goCoax 2.5 to G3100 with MoCA 2.5.

So the questions are:

  • Have anyone successfully connected ECB6250 to G3100 with MoCA 2.5?
  • Have anyone successfully connected ECB5240M to G3100 with Bonded MoCA 2.0? Presumably no because of the above observations.

Actiontec released WEB7100 earlier this year. Did anyone have possession of it and tried it out? It is kind of similar to E3200 with 802.11ax and MoCA 2.5.

 

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 4 of 7
(1,634 Views)

@Cang_Household wrote:

I need to reopen this discussion to seek clarification on G3100's MoCA support.

 

Here are my observations:

 

  • From the manual, G3100 supports MoCA 2.5.
  • Many users have failed to connect WCB6200Q to G3100. Some have failed to connect ECB6200 to G3100. Both of these devices are Bonded MoCA 2.0.
  • Recently, I found someone has successfully connected WCB3000N to G3100 with MoCA 1.1.
  • From the DSLReports, I found someone has successfully connected goCoax 2.5 to G3100 with MoCA 2.5.

So the questions are:

  • Have anyone successfully connected ECB6250 to G3100 with MoCA 2.5?
  • Have anyone successfully connected ECB5240M to G3100 with Bonded MoCA 2.0? Presumably no because of the above observations.

Actiontec released WEB7100 earlier this year. Did anyone have possession of it and tried it out? It is kind of similar to E3200 with 802.11ax and MoCA 2.5.

 


According Verizon's FAQ page it states that the older extenders are not compatible with G3100. 

 

https://www.verizon.com/supportresources/content/dam/verizon/support/consumer/documents/internet/fio...

 

I'm not sure how people are getting the older extenders to work unless they have them wired with ethernet. I can only say from experience that if I connect my 6200 to the coax network the coax LAN light on the G3100 doesn't even come on. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-10-2020

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 5 of 7
(1,579 Views)

I couldn't tell you how or why it works, but the following is working for me:

 

ONT - coax - splitter - coax - G3100 router;    then off the splitter, I have coax going to several different rooms.  I have WCB3000N connected to the coax in one of the rooms.  I then plug a laptop into the WCB3000N with ethernet, and I get approximately 75/75 (which is what I currently pay for).   [In fact, I have two WCB3000N devices in two different rooms, and they both work equally well.]

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 6 of 7
(1,565 Views)

Oopey, I think you give me some corroborations. You are kind of my witness.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2020

Re: G3100 and WCB6200Q Extender - do they work together?

Message 7 of 7
(1,546 Views)

My experience is consistent, and I would be interested to see the answers to the questions posed.

 

How I was able to get the old extender to work:

ethernet from 3100 to ecb6200 adapter.  Coax from ecb6200 to wall coax.  This puts moca 2.0 into my coax network.  Wcb6200Q connected to coax wall outlet in different room.  Voila. 

If it turns out that the 3100 router coax output only works with the e3200 extender, then I MAY consider picking that up. 

I'm really only using the 3100 router because I’m getting it for free.  I may also consider just using my own router. It really come down to whether I think I will get better performance/coverage from a non-Verizon router. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.