Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Reply
rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 1 of 24
(1,126 Views)

I recently switched from 1100 to G3100 router. Ever since it was installed, i lose internet connectivity whenever my computers (desktop, dell laptop, mac book pro) goes into sleep mode. It takes about 1 min to reconnect.  All computers are hard wired via ethernet.  No wifi.  Never happened with the 1100.  I use my computers for work so when i walk away i lose my connection and need to reestablish when i wake it up.  

called tech support three times--no clue.  They thought i was a router issue so they sent me a replacement and of course it does the same thing.  Any idea.  I have already tried "unchecking" the box under network adapter that allows computer to shut off device.  

 

My mac book pro says "seeking IP address" when it is trying to connect again so i assume that it is losing IP address every time.

 

Any thoughts?  

23 REPLIES 23
Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 2 of 24
(1,102 Views)

I am confused. When you say "G3100 loses connectivity," do you mean the white circle on the G3100 turns yellow every time your computer goes to sleep? Or do you mean the computers themselves lose connectivity? If it is the latter, I would assume DHCP takes sometime to get an IP address. You can try to set static IPs on your devices to see whether the problem still persists.

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 3 of 24
(1,041 Views)

thank you very much for the reply.  The latter is correct, the computers themselves lose connectivity and you are also correct that the DHCP takes sometime to get an IP address.   Can you please explain how to set static IPs on my devices.  i will give it a try!

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 4 of 24
(1,025 Views)

For setting Windows static IP, please follow these instructions: https://www.trendnet.com/press/resource-library/how-to-set-static-ip-address 

For setting MacOS static IP, please follow these instructions: https://www.linksys.com/ca/support-article?articleNum=142254 

On Windows machine, you might also want to set the network as Private and Trusted. I am wondering if that is also creating the issues you are having.

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 5 of 24
(984 Views)

thanks again for the response.  I tried following the instructions in the link but when i type in my IP address and the subset, it disconnects and does not reconnect.  Am i to type all 4 codes (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) or just the first three as it states.  Also, Underneath the IP address information there are spaces for "DNS" server address?  Do I enter something in these fields?  It does not say to enter anything in the instructions?  Perhaps i am missing a step or something?  I had to revert back to automatic to reconnect.  Any thoughts?

 

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 6 of 24
(983 Views)

thanks again

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 7 of 24
(968 Views)

In a typical Fios residential network, your device's IP should be 192.168.1.x (x can be 2-254). The subnet mask is 255.255.255.0 for a 24 bit network. The default gateway is your router's IP address, which is 192.168.1.1. Your DNS server again should be your router, 192.168.1.1. You can leave the secondary DNS server blank.

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 8 of 24
(810 Views)

I just tried inputting the numbers and no luck--it still disconnects when computer goes to sleep.  Then connects after about a minute.  It says "identifying....." then connects.  I tried on both Windows 10 and 11 computers and same thing (i thought it could be a Windows thing."  Do you think it could be a setting under the router settings?  Do you have this problem?  

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 9 of 24
(776 Views)

No, it has nothing to do with the router. My test G3100 does not have this issue when connecting to a Dell Inspiron. Can you install WireShark on your computer and watch what your network card is doing when it shows “identifying?”

 

Do you have other networking devices in your network? Such as a NVR, a switch, and etc.?

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: G3100 loses connectivity when computer sleeps

Message 10 of 24
(756 Views)

OK, i just installed Wireshark.  Can you please advise how to use it?  thank you for the assistance and support.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title