Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Reply
In_Domine
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2013

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 11 of 22
(1,955 Views)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2887236854.png

 

 

I'm still kind of in shock how someone with DSL can download a file at nearly the same speed as me at that time...

 

 

*Yawwwwwnnnnnn*

 

Still my fault, according to everyone that runs the phones over at your friendly neighborhood VZ! 

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 12 of 22
(1,938 Views)

@In_Domine wrote:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2887236854.png

 

 

I'm still kind of in shock how someone with DSL can download a file at nearly the same speed as me at that time...

 

 

*Yawwwwwnnnnnn*

 

Still my fault, according to everyone that runs the phones over at your friendly neighborhood VZ! 


Test to the Clifton, New Jersey server labeled FortressITX. The Buffalo, NY one gives mixed results regardless of the ISP I'm on, including at my place of employment, where Gigabit is available.

In_Domine
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2013

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 13 of 22
(1,904 Views)

Every phone junky I have spoken to over at Verizon will not use the speedtests I tell them I have gotten because it's not the "Verizon speedtest" and doesn't just insist, but is incredibly straightforward on blaming my desktop. I won't post the specs for the sake of brevity on the subject of computer hardware.

 

Tests(Note: I am not sure why the times are so late, I couldn't find any setting to change my GMT)

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/2891427072

 

That's the test to the NJ server you told me to test to, I got the ping that I would expect for the range of nearly 400-500 miles. But... I'm still using a wired desktop computer to do these speedtests and I'm subscribed to the 75/35 plan... Sure, the ping issue is solved, but I'm not going to be connection to a NYC/NJ area 24/7 to play online games, so that's quite unfortunate. 😕

 

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/2891429802

 

Here's one to NYC. Basically the exact same thing. Can't complain about the ping, but I feel like I'm using the TWC connection to download files that I was using back in ~2007.

 

 

However, in light of all this I called up one of my high school friends who lives four miles away and who I sometimes play Dark Souls with on the Xbox. He subscribes to the 300/165 service and I asked him how he likes it and if he ever experiences latency, lag, timeouts; et cetera and he has never once noticed anything wrong and has never had any complaints; however, he "complained" about the wiring a VZ tech did and wanted to know what was Verizon's and what cables were not. Sure enough, a tech is sent over for free and marks every coax cable that's Verizon's with tape. Well, complained is in quotes for a reason, he was simply lying to get them to send a tech over so he knew what cables and splitters to replace. (I think that's kind of brilliant, but that's just me) Anyways, he has SEVEN STBs and replaced all of the RG6 coax cables with Dynex RG6 coax cables and he replaced 3 ActionTec 4-way 5-1002Mhz splitters, 1 PDI 4-way 5-1000Mhz splitter and 3 PDI 2-way 5-1000MHz splitters with something like 13 Dynex 2-way 5-2050MHz splitters. His entire wiring for the router, ONT, and STBs looks nothing like mine, qhich is half stapled, half tangled, some coax lines are hexagonal while others are circular, they're a mix of white and black and there's 2 ActionTec 4-way splitters that are only connected to 1 thing -- and I can't even connect to the internet without having both of those cables plugged into separate splitters(and one of them has a green wire that has a "MODEM" tag written on it). 

 

After looking at his set-up, and unfortunaly didn't take any pictures because it didn't even cross my mind, I wanted to know how his connection ran. Especially since he tests to the Buffalo server with ZERO FREAKING PING and the NYC server with 3-5 ping. I expected a difference...but I have no words to describe how I felt playing a FPS, oh wait, I do... It fealt like I was on LAN against a team of blind people. 3-4 bullets always killed someone within 10 feet, I could kill people across the map with less than 10 bullets with an SMG, my screen actually turned red as if I took the correct amount of damage(to the usual 1-bullet death I experience), and above all, I died a total of... it's an unebelievable zero deaths over the course of 3 games and over 40 kills each game of TDM(and it's first to 75). Playing public actually felt like...public. God awful players who can't react and aim accurately to save their life. And a typical game over here in my humble abode is an average 15-20 deaths per game... with roughly 25-30 kills. 

 

 

Kudos to anyone that actually read those paragraphs. I'll be stopping at Best Buy over the course of this weekend to replace the splitters and cables, unless a post on this thread makes it in time with a miraculous fix to bad ping and abyssmal upstream/downstream. If it works, I'll post new speedtests and tracerts and if it doesn't, well, you'll probably hear about someone jumping off the Peace Bridge in the news next week. 

yobdab1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 14 of 22
(1,891 Views)

never heard of zero ping before. but i agree with you Verizon used old cabling in my house also. my ping usually is 23-44.

i would like to know how your cable replacement works.

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 15 of 22
(1,860 Views)

If you can, stick to using Ethernet WAN from your ONT to the router. You're going to be better off with such a setup when it comes down to latency. Since your friend has Ethernet WAN and a Coaxial connection present, he has to use Ethernet for his connectivity back to the ONT, as Coaxial will max at 100Mbps. It's there strictly for the Set Top Boxes. If you do wish to stick with Coaxial, the rule is, the less splitters in the mix, the better. If you can eliminate everything to just one splitter that is also compatible with MoCa, that should give you the best possible setup. Each splitter attenuates the signal.

 

By any chance, are you able to get the model of the ONT Verizon installed? A picture will do if you're able to take one. This is the big box that connects up to the Fiber. I'm curious if you're in a BPON area. Otherwise, I really believe someone should be sent out at this point if it's not the connection to/from the router. You could have dirty fiber which can cause issues for others.

In_Domine
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2013

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 16 of 22
(1,822 Views)

-Changing splitters and cables didn't work and couldn't speedtest at all because I received a "latency error". 

 

-Zero ping is just what it showed, a lot of users with IE sometimes get it. (Assuming it's a bug, in all honesty)

 

 

The ONT goes to a two-way PDI splitter, one for the router and one for 4 STBs. The line for the router than gets another two-way splitter to connect to a 5th STB and the router itself. The line with the 4 STBs(Really 3, because the 4th one in the basement has never worked and VZ swore it did; never had a tech confirm it worked or not, so I just unplugged it and let it collect dust) has a 4-way splitter for them all to connect. What I find interesting is there is a single coax line that connects to a 4-way ActionTec splitter and labaled "modem" and there is another independant coax line that is connected to another 4-way splitter with a green line from the ONT.

 

My friend who rewired everything has the ActionTec WAN Ethernet port empty. There's no ethernet from the ONT whatsoever, he uses the same router and a circular ONT, whereas I have this square one. What's still shocking me is that in the bandwidth system log on the MI424WR-Gen3i, the Rx rate ranges from 300-4000 and the Tx rate ranges from 30-150. 

 

I'm still completely baffled as to why I would need to pay $90 to have a tech come out and run a speedtest from Speedtest.Verizon.net and tell me everything is fine. (And that speedtest is a bunch of bull**bleep** because I never fail to test 15 ping/80down/45up, but to the same server on a different website...yeah...not so hot, and the length is takes a file to download definitely is not even close to 80down. **bleep**)

 

If you still need a picture of the ONT, I'll have to import it from my phone and upload it, along with the old VZ wiring I had before I went psycho with the duct tape to make it easier for me.

yobdab1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 17 of 22
(1,816 Views)

Log into your router and goto system monitoring and click advance. See if your dropping your connection. Maybe you need your ONT replaced.

 

From Garland Texas

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Phillips>tracert 208.67.222.222

Tracing route to resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
  2     8 ms     5 ms     9 ms  L100.DLLSTX-VFTTP-51.verizon-gni.net [173.71.58.
1]
  3    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  G0-3-4-0.DLLSTX-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.2
12.36]
  4    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  so-5-0-0-0.DFW9-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.
199.34]
  5     8 ms     9 ms     9 ms  0.xe-3-2-0.BR2.DFW13.ALTER.NET [152.63.100.1]
  6    11 ms    10 ms    15 ms  204.255.168.158
  7    13 ms    11 ms    13 ms  ae-3.r01.dllstx04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.2
09]
  8     8 ms     9 ms    10 ms  xe-0-0-0-17.r01.dllstx04.us.ce.gin.ntt.net [157.
238.224.198]
  9    10 ms    10 ms     9 ms  resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]

Trace complete.

 

I have two splitters and over 60 foot of coax running to my router.

tonyw
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-14-2013

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 18 of 22
(1,751 Views)

I have the same exact problem as you and I live in the NY/NJ area. I've had FIOS for over 5 years now and it seems to be getting worse. Ping is in the 100+ range for gaming servers which are located in the same state as me which is ridiculous.  From what I've found, the problem is caused by peering between different companies. winMTR diagnostics show that packet loss on ALTER.NET and level3Comm is what is causing the problem (you can dl that program and see for yourself - you probably have the same cause for your high latency as me). If so, don't bother contacting verizon because there's nothing they can do. The only solution I have found other than switching ISPs is to use a a VPN server that is located close by (try NYC or Newark) that will avoid the problematic hops hosted by level3 and alter.net.

 

in my case, ae11.edge2.NewYork.Level3.net (4.68.62.41), shows over 50% packet loss throughout most of the day. it drops back to 0% during the late night hours when internet congestion dies down, and that's the only time when my ping returns to normal.

 

here's my traceroute to the server you used and you can see what i mean:

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|          Wireless_Broadband_Router.home -    0 |  156 |  156 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|   L100.NWRKNJ-VFTTP-136.verizon-gni.net -    0 |  157 |  157 |    4 |    5 |   34 |    4 |
|  G0-6-3-1.NWRKNJ-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net -    0 |  157 |  157 |    5 |    7 |   18 |    9 |
|                           130.81.199.14 -    0 |  157 |  157 |    5 |    9 |   79 |    6 |
|           0.xe-3-0-1.BR1.NYC1.ALTER.NET -    3 |  141 |  137 |    0 |   11 |   31 |   11 |
|           ae11.edge2.NewYork.Level3.net -    9 |  117 |  107 |   12 |   13 |   44 |   14 |
|         vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net -    0 |  157 |  157 |    9 |    9 |   18 |   11 |
|                             4.69.201.45 -    0 |  157 |  157 |   11 |   12 |   16 |   12 |
|       ae-71-71.csw2.NewYork1.Level3.net -    0 |  157 |  157 |   12 |   15 |   32 |   14 |
|       ae-2-70.edge2.NewYork1.Level3.net -    0 |  157 |  157 |   10 |   14 |   98 |   13 |
|                  b.resolvers.Level3.net -    0 |  157 |  157 |   11 |   12 |   16 |   13 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

 

 

 

 

 

right now it's almost 1 am which is why packet loss is on the low side (9%, which, by the way, is still terrible for gaming/VoIP). you're connecting through the same hop that i use on my games/servers - 4.68.62.41.

 

 

 

In_Domine
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2013

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 19 of 22
(1,597 Views)

Thanks for the reply with the VPN server idea, and for the trace route of the problem.

 

 

Do you mind giving a brief tutorial on how to set-up and use? Or a general gist of what a VPN will do? And if it's possible for it to lower my ping with my xbox360 to a P2P host? Thanks in advance. 

 

 

On a sidenote: I am finally getting a tech to be sent out(turns out my neighbor is actually a VZ customer service rep), and once I told her the problems I was having and if she had them as well(she did), she had no idea that there even was an issue and that she was thankful I brought it up because she's never had a call about ping or latency. And she blamed it on the area specific ONT boxes and recommended I upgrade to the 500/100 or the 300/65 for a couple of days, call up VZ, and tell them I don't need the service. She also took the liberty to tell me that the techs that hooked everything up to new FiOS areas in Buffalo were from the NYC area. She came to some conclusion that they just rig the living {word filter avoidance}out of the wires because, apparently, connection does not degrade significantly with {word filter avoidance} wiring in the NYC area. 

 

So, if you can either message me independantly or post here about VPN, that'd be much appreciated. Who knows, I might even use it after the tech leaves in two weeks.

mamirian
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2013

Re: Gaming Latency - Questions for Black Ops 2

Message 20 of 22
(1,380 Views)

I see the same issue with the same router. The packet loss is a ridiculous 77.3% --it's actually up past 81% now!!

 

Verizon... you need to contact ALTER.NET and/or L3 and get them to fix and/or route around. Otherwise, you need to stop handing off the ALTER.NET and move the traffic to another provider/peer.

 

Please.. this is seriously impacting service. 

 

Packets Pings
Host                                Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1. Wireless_Broadband_Router.home ( 0.0% 301 0.9 3.5 0.7 119.1 13.4
2. L100.NWRKNJ-VFTTP-135.verizon-gn 0.0% 301 7.8 13.2 6.0 181.7 18.7
3. G0-6-0-4.NWRKNJ-LCR-21.verizon-g 0.0% 301 14.8 14.2 8.5 132.3 11.5
4. ae1-0.NWRK-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.n 0.3% 301 9.5 25.6 7.4 267.7 31.7
5. 0.xe-10-1-0.BR1.NYC1.ALTER.NET ( 0.0% 301 35.8 38.2 19.5 202.9 21.1
6. ae11.edge2.NewYork.Level3.net (4 77.3% 301 12.2 15.1 11.3 62.6 7.0
7. vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net  0.3% 301 16.0 18.8 11.4 314.1 22.2
8. ae-46-46.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.ne 0.3% 301 16.4 18.3 11.2 254.8 19.1
9. ae-2-2.ebr1.Newark1.Level3.net ( 0.0% 301 16.4 19.7 13.8 197.8 18.7
10. ae-1-51.edge2.Newark1.Level3.net 0.0% 301 14.6 17.7 11.2 135.8 16.1
11. ???

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.