Re: Gig speeds, not so much
lapper131
Enthusiast - Level 2

Finally found a solution and I'm finally receiving gig speeds.

The brilliant solution?

I have to use the Verizon Fios G1100 router to receive Gig speeds.

I should preface this by confessing my given profession; I'm a network engineer. I say this because I've spent the last decade of my career ensconsed in routing. I know it inside and out and know that routers NEVER make a WAN connection faster; they can only slow down a WAN connection due to processing overhead.

Each packet traversing the router is encapsulated in a layer 3 header that includes destination IP, source IP, as well as things like header checksum and TTL, which need to be read/processed and stripped away to create a Layer 2 frame to be delivered to an end device. 

But contrary to everything I know about how networks work, The Verizon Fios router makes the WAN connection 50% faster than when using a non Verizon router or no router at all. This makes no sense to me, but I cannot argue with the results.

When connected directly to the ethernet port on the Verizon ONT, the fastest speeds i could receive were 600Mbps. When connecting my Asus RT-AC87U router the speeds were in the high 500's. After connecting the Verizon Fios G1100 router to the ONT, my speeds immediately jumped to mid 900's upload and download. That's a 50% increase in speed by using Verizon's router. 

I have no idea why this is the case and I wish someone at Verizon would have just told me that their router is required to receive gig speeds. I had half a dozen techs dispatched to my house and dozens of calls into their tech support people, but not one of them told me their router is required.

I don't know what black magic their router is up to or why their magical router is the only device that delivers the gig speeds, but that's the result after 6 weeks of troubleshooting. 

Verizon wants $10 a month rental for their router, so I bought my own on ebay for $100.