×

Switch Account

Gigabit speeds with Fios G1100 router?

Gigabit speeds with Fios G1100 router?

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 1 of 6
(9,956 Views)

Is it possible to achieve 800-900Mbits speeds with using Verizon's Quantum G1100 router?  

 

When I use fast.com or speedtest.net i'm only getting about 300-400Mbits.  With speedtest.verizon.net, it's showing 900-930Mbits for connection speed.  Device test was just 188Mbps/472.

 

I'm using a wired Macbook Pro '17 as the test device.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,882
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 2 of 6
(9,936 Views)

@bbchucks wrote:

Is it possible to achieve 800-900Mbits speeds with using Verizon's Quantum G1100 router?  

 

When I use fast.com or speedtest.net i'm only getting about 300-400Mbits.  With speedtest.verizon.net, it's showing 900-930Mbits for connection speed.  Device test was just 188Mbps/472.

 

I'm using a wired Macbook Pro '17 as the test device.


The router is capable of gig speed. However your testing sites are not accepted by Fios only their own. Based on that result Verizon states up to 940/880 so the test is showing that. Now the other sites show real world results with the direct slow downs and other internet snafus like sites not reachable, routed differently to sites etc.

 

device tests will always vary. Apple products are normally around 400 so 472 is pretty good. Depending on the device. Same for non Apple devices. It varies.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,582
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 3 of 6
(9,931 Views)

Also keep in mind that when you go to different speedtest sites they will auto select the server for you. And in most cases that server you are testing with is not equipped to handle a gig. 

If you go to say speedtest.net and you use 10 different servers you will probably get 10 very different results.

 

The point of the gig download speed is not to say hey my 1 device is getting a gig. It’s that you have more bandwidth so essentially 10 people could be streaming a 4k video. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,882
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 4 of 6
(9,929 Views)

You know you made a good point.

however even though I have the gigabyte service I found my same 24 devices (not all on at same time) which I had under 15/1 on cable are still stable and the gigabyte is just faster downloads etc. but now retired I don’t even need faster downloads. 

 

My days of visiting questionable web sites and downloading Napster etc are well over 😀

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 5 of 6
(9,921 Views)

I found the culprit, since the macbook pro '17 doesn't have any eth ports - i'm using a dongle.  In addition the eth dongle is connected to my Monitor which feeds the laptop eth connection.

When i plug the dongle directly to my macbook...BAM - i'm getting 950+/950+!

 

does anyone have recommended G1100 settings?  do you use MPDU and MSDU?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,882
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 6 of 6
(9,913 Views)

@bbchucks wrote:

I found the culprit, since the macbook pro '17 doesn't have any eth ports - i'm using a dongle.  In addition the eth dongle is connected to my Monitor which feeds the laptop eth connection.

When i plug the dongle directly to my macbook...BAM - i'm getting 950+/950+!

 

does anyone have recommended G1100 settings?  do you use MPDU and MSDU?


I would just leave well enough alone. It’s working as it should, why tempt the internet gods? Personally I use a Netgear Nighthawk R8500 router. I don’t recommend the Quantum router G1100 for its terrible WiFi. Others however say it’s ok for a ethernet direct connection.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.