×

Switch Account

Going back to Comcast--Verizon poor customer service

Going back to Comcast--Verizon poor customer service

Reply
Copper Contributor kenjo
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-15-2009
Message 21 of 35
(14,149 Views)

I had a PM from Techman28 to let me know he had completed a work order to have someone follow up on this issue today, and he provided me with a work order number. THANKS! His response to this issue actually resulted in some action, as follows:

 

Update: A Verizon truck showed up this morning with an actual Verizon person who said he had a work order to replace the temporary line with a permanent (something about an irate customer as well). I escorted him around the house so he could see for himself how the temp line was put in, and he agreed that there is no reason why they (the contractors) could not have put the line underground all the way to the house without going through the crawl space. He said he would issue a new work order to ensure the work is done correctly. Of course, there will have to be a new locate done since the original locate marks have been washed away or grown over (they were done 2 months ago). So, there is still hope.

Message Edited by kenjo on 05-07-2009 11:43 AM
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 22 of 35
(14,145 Views)
Well "props" to Techman28 for being a man of his word and getting this moving.   Please continue to keep us all posted until this is done.    It's too bad that this took so long.   However, it's good to see that this forum was the instrument for getting it moving.
Admin Emeritus Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 23 of 35
(14,123 Views)

DarkCobra wrote:
Well "props" to Techman28 for being a man of his word and getting this moving.   Please continue to keep us all posted until this is done.    It's too bad that this took so long.   However, it's good to see that this forum was the instrument for getting it moving.

Agreed, DarkCobra. Techman28 is definitely "Da Man". 

Kathleen
Verizon Telecom
Online Center of Excellence


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 24 of 35
(14,113 Views)

I'm not quite done with the drop being buried. I'll speak with the FT in the morning and he Did refer it back to Buried drop for another appt at which I should know tomorrow. I'll have additional info tomorrow for Kenjo.

 

In the mean Time if you are having problems feel free to post them so we can get your problems worked on and fixed.

Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 25 of 35
(14,107 Views)

Techman28 needs a raise!   We need to clone him so he is in all parts of the country Smiley Happy

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 26 of 35
(14,062 Views)

@DarkCobra wrote:

Techman28 needs a raise!   We need to clone him so he is in all parts of the country Smiley Happy


 

Yes I agree. Techman28 does exemplify what it means to be da tech man. I am really glad to see this issue being addressed. It is not the first time. I have about 30ft of burial cable from the box to my property line that I did myself. About one foot deep. Only line in my neighborhood behind the house. I threw the contractors off my property and did the work myself after they tried to put the cable only 2 inches below the grass, and proceeded to destroy my garden. This was supposed to be the permanent cable to replace the temporary cable that had not been burried for three months. YES I DID IT MYSELF, after the work order was closed three times. This is one that still burns me. Since 2005. I must mark the cable everytime the utilities are marked for work. No one knows it's there. Sorry but I like Verizon, but do not like some of the things that happen. Thanks to all the Verizon people here in the forums, things are getting better.
Message Edited by prisaz on 05-08-2009 08:27 PM
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 27 of 35
(14,045 Views)

Very well said "prisaz"!    I can't believe you had to do that yourself.    Good for you.   I hope the powers that be in corporate are watching these forums because even though we've got the biggest network . . . in terms of installation nightmares, billing nightmares and some customer rep folks who "clearly" aren't ready for prime time . . . we've got a long way to go. 

 

This forum is truly acting as a mirror that illuminates what is REALLY going on out here.   Can ya hear us now executives?   We love the company but as you can see from this forum there are serious problems that may not be showing up on the corporate graphs and charts and bottom line dollar figures.   You guys at the top can fix this Smiley Happy

 


dancingphone.gif

 

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 28 of 35
(14,038 Views)

@DarkCobra wrote:

Very well said "prisaz"!    I can't believe you had to do that yourself.    Good for you.   I hope the powers that be in corporate are watching these forums because even though we've got the biggest network . . . in terms of installation nightmares, billing nightmares and some customer rep folks who "clearly" aren't ready for prime time . . . we've got a long way to go. 

 

This forum is truly acting as a mirror that illuminates what is REALLY going on out here.   Can ya hear us now executives?   We love the company but as you can see from this forum there are serious problems that may not be showing up on the corporate graphs and charts and bottom line dollar figures.   You guys at the top can fix this Smiley Happy

 


dancingphone.gif

 


 

Yes in 2005 I think I would have dug a hole to China to get fiber. Since my fiasco, it was six months and a slight rework of my neighborhood before anyone else was provisioned. I guess I was one of the first, so digging a 30ft 1ft deep trench and back filling was a small price to pay. FIOS is great. In the 1990s before residential DSL was available I had a dry pair of clean copper provisioned to a third party provider for SDSL and it was $626 for the install. So many people do not realize the undertaking that Verizon has taken on and only for a service commitment. I paid nothing for my FIOS install or my equipment. Only a monthly charge that is far less then the $99 a month only for SDSL I paid in the 90s. GO VERIZON!
Go ahead back to copper coax infrastructure. Glass is da gas!
Message Edited by prisaz on 05-08-2009 09:35 PM
Contributor Arthur Dent
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 29 of 35
(14,038 Views)

I have Verizon FIOS using Westell 9100OEM Router.  I was unable to connect to my company's website using a VPN connection due to Verizion's DNS Redirect service.   I did not see anything about how to configure this router to opt out of the DNS Redirect service on the FIOS Help web page.  I contacted Verizon Tech Support and the tech that answered my call told me he had no idea how to do this either.  I ask to talk to someone else.  He told me there was no one else I could talk to.  He also told that my only option would be to contact Verizon's Premium Tech Support service and that this was a pay service.  I told him that I thought it would be easier for me to choose another ISP than do this and he said that was up to me

 

I can't believe that someone like Verizon would have such poor customer service for its Internet support.  I have a Verizon cell phone and have never had any problems with this service.  I would still like to know how to opt out of the DNS Redirect so I thought I would post this here. 

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 30 of 35
(14,015 Views)

If you do not like Verizon's DNS you can use someone elses. DNS only resolves the Name to IP. Only time I have seen an issue with redirects was when the domain could not be found. Then it may redirect you to a search page with optional domains. You could try Open DNS. Many users say it is even faster. http://www.opendns.com/

 

Are you sure it is a Verizon redirect issue? Or is it an issue with not finding the server? There have been other issues with VPN that have nothing to do with DNS.

 

Verizon must balance support with what their resonsibility is. You really can't expect them to support every software and hardware issue with connecting to a remote site. I am sure there are many people out there that would tie up the tech lines with everything under the sun. So that is why they have the premium support available. These forums are a good resource for help, and customers helping customer. Be it something Verizon may or may not be responsible for.

Message Edited by prisaz on 05-09-2009 08:06 AM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.