Google WiFi Mesh & Verizon Fios Issue
NickB2005
Enthusiast - Level 3

Let me start this off by saying that I have been using this setup for almost 2 years now without issue. I have Verizon Fios gigabit service with a Fios Quantum Gateway router. I also have the Google WiFi mesh system with 3 access points total. I have the main AP connected to the port 1 on my Fios router. I also have the ONT out of the wall going to my WAN port and then have the coax cable. 

So, again, I haven't had ANY issues for the past 2 years up until 5 days ago. Fios must've been putting out an update because my fios one box was blinking green and seemed stuck on the update. After talking with fios early that next morning it went back to white, but the other box I have is still blinking green (who knows why, but TV works, DVR works, etc). That's when all my issues started with the internet. 

After talking to Fios for 4 days them trying to do all these troubleshooting issues and saying it's fixed and then it's actually not is quite annoying. The internet issue I am facing is spotty internet where it'll be fine for hours and then drop for a minute or two and then come back, but when you work from home internet is very important. 

Yesterday, I decided after Fios says everything was good on their side to contact Google WiFi support. The guy was very helpful and said the issue from the logs he can see that I am facing is I am having a double NAT or multiple networks. Your Google Wifi signal channels and the WiFi from Verizon is interfering reason why your network is dropping. 

He asked me to contact Verizon and have them walk me through how to my Fios router in bridge mode, which they did no issue took a few minutes. I thought I was good the fios router globe was red (I assumed this was due to bridge mode) and then the wifi symbol below was lit up and white. Thought I was good because I have all my devices (10 of them currently) connected to my google WiFi setup.