×

Switch Account

HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 1 of 9
(1,171 Views)

Ok here goes my story.

I went to use Verizon's IHA (In Home Assistant) the other day when I got a new printer.

When I launched the IHA I received a message that there was a critical security update needed for the IHA.

I said yes of course to the update, boy oh boy was that a mistake.

 

When I went to launch it after updating the only thing that would happen is:

1 - It shows the screen shot of the IHA program loading

2 - disappears as fast as it appears

 

Gerrrrrrr....I had a lot of things to do and decided that I would fiddle with IHA and the printer later when I have time.

 

Fast forward to today, I logged on to check something real quick before I had to run back out.

Figured I would check and see if IHA would launch. Nope same thing it was doing before. GERRRRRR!

 

Then, McAfee while doing it's realtime or quick scan popped up with this:

 

McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA - Artemis!6C5EA6C50022

 

IHA McAfee.jpg

 

Now McAfee has quarantined it.

 

Now you will see another Artemis quarantine above the IHA one in the picture, that was from a SD card which came out of a droid and has long ago been rectified.

 

I like being able to use the IHA to troubleshoot my STB's etc, but right now it's not an option at all.

Obviously because McAfee has quarantined it & I'm not sure I want to free it!

 

So, what can be done about this situation?

Can/should I uninstall/reinstall it?

Is there a non-trojan version?

 

I'm so frustrated with Verizon, like what did you add to the IHA that McAfee detects it as a Trojan? GEERRRR!

More frustrating is that I actually use the Verizon Security Suite, thought it was an ok price & I didn't have to worry about when it needed to be relicensed!

 

Ha, maybe I'll go back to purchasing my own security software, where I can have the control I've come accustomed to using. Set my own rules and regs and not worry about such **bleep**. Not to mention it would probably be cheaper in the long run. Maybe I'll go back to Cox Cable where their security suite is free, built into the price no doubt, but the customer does not see it!

 

Now add to this story, I have a Degree in Computer & Networking and this is so not cool Verizon, I'm seriously PO'd.

Sorry, but I needed to vent off some steam.

 

So I'm taking responses as to what & where to go next, Thanks in advance!

 

 

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 2 of 9
(1,167 Views)
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 3 of 9
(1,096 Views)

Ha, I tried to send it to McAfee " Many Times "   Smiley Frustrated

 

Notice the HUGE ERROR OCCURED

 

Fail Send McAfee.jpg 

 

Somedays it's not so easy young Jedi   Smiley Frustrated

 

So now what?

Think I'm going to have to waste a lot of time calling Verizon to try and get this stooooopid thing fixed.

 

Any other ideas????

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 4 of 9
(1,094 Views)

 

Oh and I tried to download the current DAT file from on-line in case there was an issue with that, and it told me:

  •  Error: Unable to find any qualifying McAfee Product(s).

 

Problems seem to lie within Verizon & McAfee products.

  1. Not being able to submit to McAfee, Verizon probably blocking the transmission of their program.
  2. McAfee possibly reading a false positive, note the possibly

 

So, like I said before I have a Real College Diploma "Applied Sciences" in computers and networking. I am adequately versed in how to submit files for examination etc, but thank you for suggesting it. Someone else may not know how to.

I'm going to try some other ways to get this done, always more than one way to do something on PC's...LOL

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 5 of 9
(1,070 Views)

Ok here is my Latest Update.

 

I used the McAfee GetSusp product which was finally able to upload the suspicious Verizon IHA File(s). The files are of "Unknown Type" So, the files will be forwarded for further analysis. I will post back when they get back to me.

 

My McAfee email confirmation:

 

McAfee Labs Sample Analysis
Thank you for using the GetSusp tool to submit your suspicious file(s).

Synopsis:
The status of each file in the submission after an initial analysis is as follows: 

File Name:  verizon_ihamessagecenter.ex_             

MD5:           3962f0be2018a275dbe7510a80173759

Findings

Detection:   not_detected

Type:           Unknown

File Name:   vzinhomeagent.ex_    
MD5:            edfee83a25219907bd59040a8af922fa

Findings

Detection:    not_detected

Type:            Unknown

 

In the event that the files are not listed as known threats, the submission will be forwarded to a McAfee Labs Researcher for further analysis. You will be contacted by McAfee Labs via email with the results of that analysis.

Support

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 6 of 9
(1,063 Views)

I'm not saying don't use mcafee, but they are nortorious for false positive alerts. Main reason I never continued to use it after a free trial. Norton is bad as well. IMO there are far more better programs that are effective and even free such as Avast. I hardly ever get false positives with it and I love their boot scan. Malwarebytes anti malware is another great program to use if you dont already.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 7 of 9
(1,056 Views)

Sure looks like nothing more then a false positive to me just by looking at the file name. It's just the Verizon message center triggering it....which can be turned off. I'll be very surprised if it comes back as something.

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 8 of 9
(1,047 Views)

LOL, true true true.

I have used many AV's including but not limited to AVAST, AVG, BitDefender, Malwarebytes, SpyBot & COMODO which I found to be an awesome product with customizable Firewall included. I would never install Norton on any PC including my friends or clients, especially knowing that when your subscription is up Norton will block your Internet access (or at least they use to). I can't begin to tell you how many calls I received from people thinking their PC's were infected only to find out it was Norton blocking them until you updated or uninstalled it. 

The only reason I'm using McAfee is because right B4 I moved my HD crashed. I didn't have time to fix it or build a custom mod with moving, so I opted to buy a new PC (shiver at the thought). I needed to have the PC ready at my new house when VZ came to install FIOS. Included in my VZ bundle was a reduced priced McAfee, included with my new PC was Norton, I chose McAfee for the time being. Lesser of the 2 evils LOL 

 

I'm figuring it's a false alarm, but it didn't trigger untill the IHA Urgent Update. My concern is that another poster butch43 (Post: Infected malware) using Kaspersky also detected it as a trojan. So, whatever VZ updated is what is triggering this alarm. Never happened b4 that. And 2 days b4 McAfee even quarantined it, it wouldn't load up fully. So, sounds like it's buggy at the very least, like VZ's mobile apps.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: HELP McAfee Detected Trojan in Verizon IHA

Message 9 of 9
(1,046 Views)

Not just the message center, because I can't run the IHA at all since the update. Both the IHA & Message Center were found to be suspicious. Like I said no problems till the urgent update. If VZ's PC apps are anything like their mobile apps then I can see them being buggy as all get out. IMHO then that would make sense, released b4 fully tested. LOL

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.