Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

SOLVED
Reply
Robostock
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2016

Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 1 of 6
(1,941 Views)

I'm scheduled to be upgraded to 150/150 from 100/100 and have been looking for the answer but haven't found a definitive answer.

 

I currently have the 100/100, with TiVo and a Tivo Mini. I signed up for 150/150 and would like to keep it on coax instead of ethernet, which really isn't an option. For Verizon equipment I have:

 

G1100 Router

GPON ONT

 

Also, I have a Tivo Bolt and a Tivo Mini using Moca. Will they continue to work?

 

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 6 of 6
(1,859 Views)

Coax for 150 mbps is definitely not an option. Literally nothing will change. Coax will all stay the same still connected to router and TiVo devices. TiVo ethernet ports will connect to the LAN ports of your G1100 or your switch. 

The only thing that will change is the tech will run and cat5e or cat6 to the G1100. Done. Nothing on your LAN or or anything other connections need to be touched. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 2 of 6
(1,930 Views)

Yes it 100% has to be on ethernet for 150 mbps. In your case the only change to be made is running an ethernet from the ONT to WAN port of the router. Tivo will still work because the coax still needs to be connected to G1100 for the moca connection.

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 3 of 6
(1,913 Views)

@Robostock wrote:

I'm scheduled to be upgraded to 150/150 from 100/100 and have been looking for the answer but haven't found a definitive answer.

 

I currently have the 100/100, with TiVo and a Tivo Mini. I signed up for 150/150 and would like to keep it on coax instead of ethernet, which really isn't an option. For Verizon equipment I have:

 

G1100 Router

GPON ONT

 

Also, I have a Tivo Bolt and a Tivo Mini using Moca. Will they continue to work?

 

Thank you.


The new installs over 100/100 are done as ethernet. Now even though they may say it has to be done their way it may be possible to leave well enough alone.

however Verizon may deem it better to upgrade to ethernet.

 

Robostock
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2016

Re: Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 4 of 6
(1,862 Views)

Thanks for your quick response. That would be great if my TiVo setup would not be affected. Do you think the Ethernet port on back of the TiVo Bolt would still work? Currently it's connected to a 5 port switch with multiple devices connected.

 

So, the newbie question being, can the ONT do ethernet on both the coax and ethernet port? Since TiVo needs the ethernet to connect to the mothership for guide data, do I have to connect both the coax and WAN (from the G1100) or can I get by with the coax on both the Tivo Bolt and Mini.

Robostock
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2016

Re: Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 5 of 6
(1,861 Views)

I'm hoping that since I the house isn't wired for it and it would be difficult to do so, I hope that using coax for 150 is an option, otherwise I'll stick with coax.

 

Second thought was for ethernet to the G1100 and then set up a mesh network?

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Have 100/100 want to upgrade 150/150. Can I use coax?

Message 6 of 6
(1,860 Views)

Coax for 150 mbps is definitely not an option. Literally nothing will change. Coax will all stay the same still connected to router and TiVo devices. TiVo ethernet ports will connect to the LAN ports of your G1100 or your switch. 

The only thing that will change is the tech will run and cat5e or cat6 to the G1100. Done. Nothing on your LAN or or anything other connections need to be touched. 

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title