×

Switch Account

Having Problems Accessing my own Website!

Having Problems Accessing my own Website!

Reply
Copper Contributor misagarcia
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 1 of 21
(10,454 Views)

Hello there,

 

I had a very strange problem today.  I run a website (http://jag35.com) which I hosted for free on Byethost.com 

I usually access this from home no problems, for about a year now, today when I tried to call it on my browser (safari on an iMac) it timed out.  Server didn't respond, so I thought my free host of course is down.  

 

So to quickly test this I checked another site that I also host on with the same company under the same account (http://vdslruser.com) and that pulled up just fine, so I thought it was strange already.  This lead lead me to check my Who's Online account, basically a small widget that tells you who's online at this moment watching your website (http://whos.amung.us/stats/n3u5yoc1plgi/) this widget tells me that there are people on my website, it even tells me which pages they are one, which makes this situation even more strange.  Other can view my website, but I can't for some reason.

 

I immediately thought it was my computer of course.  So I restart my computer, clear out my cache & cookies, flush my DNS cache on my computer, and I still have the same problem, all other pages seem to work just fine, except for my http://jag35.com domain.  I tried the pulling the page on another computer at my house, same problem, then I tried a laptop, same thing.  It's beginning to become even more strange.

 

So I restart my router and modem a couple of times, even reset all my settings to make sure the problem isn't there.  Nothing, same problem.  I sent out a twitter message to see if anyone else was having problems viewing my page, everyone says it's fine except for a couple of other people, I then asked those other people who had the same problem, which service provider they were using.  Turned out they were both using Verizon.

 

I tried to ping the site and do a trace route and I just keep getting a timeout message, however I also noticed that I get a timed out message on most domains that I try to ping or trace route.  I haven't come up with a solution of figured out where the problem is.  I hope someone that's had the same problem came share some insight  as to what might be a solution.

 

I have a feeling, I'm gonna have to change my free host, but I'm just hoping to understand the problem.

20 REPLIES 20
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 2 of 21
(10,436 Views)

Can you please post the trace router results?

Copper Contributor misagarcia
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 3 of 21
(10,418 Views)

While I was at work in Rancho Cucamonga w/ (Verizon DSL) I attempted a traceroute for jag35.com and only first 2 lines showed my router and my modem IP, everything after that showed ***   timed out.  All the way to 64 hops.  I also tried doing a traceroute to google.com and shows all *** timed out 'till about 15 it had some data and stopped.  This was a few hours ago.

 

I'm at my own house about 40 miles away, also w/ (Verizon DSL) my jag35.com website still doesn't pull up, and when I did a traceroute here at home this is what I got.

 

 

imac-3:~ CoreDuo$ traceroute jag35.com

traceroute to jag35.com (209.51.196.253), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets

 1  * * *

 2  L100.LSANCA-DSL-58.verizon-gni.net (96.251.115.1)  25.549 ms  24.031 ms  24.944 ms

 3  0-1-2258.LSANCA-LCR-12.verizon-gni.net (130.81.46.234)  24.421 ms  26.445 ms  24.600 ms

 4  so-4-3-0-0.LAX01-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net (130.81.29.246)  26.433 ms  26.108 ms  26.395 ms

 5  0.so-1-2-0.XL4.LAX15.ALTER.NET (152.63.10.125)  26.159 ms  28.046 ms  27.247 ms

 6  0.xe-11-1-0.BR2.LAX15.ALTER.NET (152.63.116.161)  27.309 ms  27.689 ms  29.740 ms

 7  * * *

 8  * * *

 9  * * *

10  * * *

11  * * *

12  * * *

13  * * *

14  * * *

15  * * *

16  * * *

17  * * *

18  * * *

19  * * *

20  * * *

21  * * *

22  * * *

23  * * *

24  * * *

25  * * *

26  * * *

27  * * *

28  * * *

29  * * *

30  * * *

31  * * *

32  * * *

33  * * *

34  * * *

35  * * *

36  * * *

And well it just keeps going that way!

 

Copper Contributor misagarcia
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 4 of 21
(10,412 Views)

I did another run and got this result:

 

 

imac-3:~ CoreDuo$ traceroute jag35.com

traceroute to jag35.com (209.51.196.253), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets

 1  * * *

 2  L100.LSANCA-DSL-58.verizon-gni.net (96.251.115.1)  25.612 ms  23.870 ms  26.436 ms

 3  0-1-2258.LSANCA-LCR-12.verizon-gni.net (130.81.46.234)  24.123 ms  24.363 ms  24.302 ms

 4  so-4-3-0-0.LAX01-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net (130.81.29.246)  26.506 ms  26.656 ms  26.612 ms

 5  0.so-1-2-0.XL4.LAX15.ALTER.NET (152.63.10.125)  26.144 ms  26.414 ms  29.193 ms

 6  0.xe-11-1-0.BR2.LAX15.ALTER.NET (152.63.116.161)  27.268 ms  31.412 ms  26.482 ms

 7  * * *

 8  * * *

 9  * * *

10  * * *

11  * * *

12  * * *

13  * * *

14  * * *

15  * * *

16  * * *

17  * * *

18  * * *

19  * * *

20  * * *

21  * * *

22  * * *

23  * * *

24  *traceroute: sendto: No route to host

traceroute: wrote jag35.com 40 chars, ret=-1

 *traceroute: sendto: No route to host

traceroute: wrote jag35.com 40 chars, ret=-1

 *

traceroute: sendto: No route to host

25 traceroute: wrote jag35.com 40 chars, ret=-1

 *traceroute: sendto: No route to host

traceroute: wrote jag35.com 40 chars, ret=-1

 *traceroute: sendto: No route to host

traceroute: wrote jag35.com 40 chars, ret=-1

 *

26  * * *

 

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 5 of 21
(10,352 Views)

@misagarcia wrote:

Hello there,

 

I had a very strange problem today.  I run a website (http://jag35.com) which I hosted for free on Byethost.com 

I usually access this from home no problems, for about a year now, today when I tried to call it on my browser (safari on an iMac) it timed out.  Server didn't respond, so I thought my free host of course is down.  

 


I too can't get to jaq35.com

Tracing route to jag35.com [209.51.196.253]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  3     6 ms     5 ms     5 ms  L101.BSTNMA-VFTTP-66.verizon-gni.net [96.233.107
.1]
  4     9 ms     7 ms     7 ms  G0-3-3-7.BSTNMA-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1
77.24]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6    18 ms    17 ms    16 ms  so-9-1-0-0.NY325-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81
.19.70]
  7    14 ms    15 ms    14 ms  0.xe-1-1-0.XL3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.1.45]
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 

My tracert agrees with yours except that I go thru the New York Alter.net gateway and you thru the LA one.  This would appear to say that the alter.net routing tables have an issue with ip address 209.51.196.253 but have no issue with 209.51.196.254.  I say routing table because I get the same error if I tracert to the ip address 209.51.196.253.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Message 6 of 21
(10,349 Views)

I tried to access your website using a Verizon FiOS connection and it failed.  Running a traceroute suggested that the failure occured after the first hop that did not have "Verizon" in the server name.

 

About two hours later I tried and succeeded in accessing your website using a Comcast connection.  It would appear that Verizon has a problem.

 

Just for laughs and grins I tried accessing your website using a Verizon DSL connection.  Once again, the connection failed.  Tracert showed the connection failing after first hop without "Verizon" in the server name.  Are you starting to see a pattern here?

Copper Contributor misagarcia
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 7 of 21
(10,333 Views)

Yeah I guess so.... I wish there was a solution!

Copper Contributor misagarcia
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 8 of 21
(10,314 Views)

I called Verizon and spent about an hour on the phone with them, after I explained my situation to about 3 or 4 different people and being redirected a couple of times, the final person just told me to send an email to security@verizon.net and explain the whole situation all over again in an email form.  Does that make any sense? 

 

I can't help you over the phone, maybe if you explain it again in email form, then I'll understand.

 

- Misa

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 9 of 21
(10,288 Views)

It is failing outside of the verizon network. But wait until saturday, I will post more here to help you out.

 

There is a chain of communications to follow to get it resolved.

Copper Contributor misagarcia
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 10 of 21
(10,278 Views)

Thanks I would appreciate any help you can provide... do you work for Verizon?  I don't understand!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.