×

Switch Account

Having speed issues

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 11 of 21
(996 Views)

I tried to reset the router and  retake the speed test

 

Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
SendBufferSize set to [522720]
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 68.67Mb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 48.40Mb/s

------ Client System Details ------
OS data: Name = Windows 7, Architecture = x86, Version = 6.1
Java data: Vendor = Oracle Corporation, Version = 1.7.0_07

------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
Client Receive Window detected at 231936 bytes.
622 Mbps OC-12 link found.
Link set to Half Duplex mode
Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
Good network cable(s) found
Normal duplex operation found.

Web100 reports the Round trip time = 10.41 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
There were 164 packets retransmitted, 3035 duplicate acks received, and 3122 SACK blocks received
The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
This connection is receiver limited 1.92% of the time.
Increasing the the client's receive buffer (226.0 KB) will improve performance
This connection is sender limited 76.97% of the time.
This connection is network limited 21.11% of the time.

Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON
Packet size is preserved End-to-End
Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address

 what do you guys think?

is it a router problem?

Because I was thinking that maybe its something about the verizon box outside the house..

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Having speed issues

Message 12 of 21
(988 Views)

If you are convinced it's an outside problem, then you should do some traceroutes and copy and paste those here.   WIN MTR is preferable, and then we can tell you what we see based on those traces.  

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 13 of 21
(966 Views)

Just tell me what i have to do..

ty

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 14 of 21
(957 Views)

I know that ever since Verizon started marketing the Quorum internet package, my internet speed is about 10 times slower.  I think it's their way of getting everyone over to the Quantum (more $$ for them).

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Having speed issues

Message 15 of 21
(949 Views)

Follow these instructions. 

 

How do I run a traceroute?

 

Addresses to use when doing a traceroute could be anything, but here are some suggestions

 

www.google.com

www.yahoo.com

4.2.2.2

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 16 of 21
(936 Views)

ok ty,

here the traceroute by terminal:

 

Tracing route to www.google.com [74.125.131.106]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1] 
  2     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  L100.PITBPA-VFTTP-33.verizon-gni.net [98.111.253.1] 
  3     4 ms     4 ms     2 ms  G1-0-8-433.PITBPA-LCR-04.verizon-gni.net [130.81.140.144] 
  4    10 ms     8 ms     8 ms  P5-0-0.PITBPA-LCR-03.verizon-gni.net [130.81.27.250] 
  5    10 ms     8 ms     8 ms  so-15-0-3-0.RES-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.28.204] 
  6    11 ms     9 ms     8 ms  0.so-2-0-0.XL3.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.37.117] 
  7    10 ms    13 ms     9 ms  TenGigE0-6-1-0.GW7.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.32.194] 
  8    74 ms    70 ms    73 ms  google-gw.customer.alter.net [152.179.50.106] 
  9    12 ms    13 ms    10 ms  216.239.46.248 
 10    14 ms    10 ms    13 ms  72.14.236.98 
 11    24 ms    30 ms    22 ms  209.85.243.114 
 12    22 ms    24 ms    23 ms  64.233.174.117 
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14    23 ms    23 ms    22 ms  vc-in-f106.1e100.net [74.125.131.106] 

Trace complete.

 and here by winmtr:

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |

|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |

|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|

|          Wireless_Broadband_Router.home -    0 |   30 |   30 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |

|    L100.PITBPA-VFTTP-33.verizon-gni.net -    0 |   30 |   30 |    1 |    2 |   12 |    3 |

|G1-0-8-433.PITBPA-LCR-04.verizon-gni.net -    0 |   30 |   30 |    1 |    3 |    9 |    3 |

|    P5-0-0.PITBPA-LCR-03.verizon-gni.net -    0 |   30 |   30 |    8 |    8 |    9 |    8 |

| so-15-0-3-0.RES-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net -    0 |   30 |   30 |    8 |   14 |   88 |   18 |

|           0.so-6-0-2.XL3.IAD8.ALTER.NET -    0 |   30 |   30 |    8 |   18 |   84 |    9 |

|       TenGigE0-4-0-0.GW7.IAD8.ALTER.NET -    0 |   30 |   30 |    9 |   11 |   17 |   11 |

|            google-gw.customer.alter.net -    0 |   30 |   30 |   66 |   70 |   97 |   97 |

|                          216.239.46.248 -    0 |   30 |   30 |    9 |   14 |  103 |   16 |

|                           72.14.238.247 -    0 |   30 |   30 |   10 |   11 |   14 |   14 |

|               iad23s07-in-f14.1e100.net -    0 |   30 |   30 |   10 |   12 |   15 |   10 |

|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,512
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Having speed issues

Message 17 of 21
(927 Views)

If you ordered 150M and Verizon gave you a Rev. F and also set you up on a Coax connection from the ONT to the router, they have to come out and correct that. 150M and higher requires Rev G or Rev I, and a CAT5e/CAT6 connection from the ONT to the router. But even on Coax + Rev. F you should be able to hit 95Mbps/75Mbps.

 

The traces look clean, so the problem could be in any number of places. You could try rebooting the ONT, checking to ensure services such as Parental Controls aren't enabled within the ActionTec, and also check duplexing on your NIC. Also, you could try NIC driver updates (doubt this would help too much) and if you have anti-virus software or other malware detection software with a "Web Shield" or Web scanner, try disabling that too to see if your speeds go up. I know Avira has one that is known to mess up speeds on slower machines.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 18 of 21
(898 Views)

They brought me the new router today, and o course, it doesnt work.

The internet light stays orange all the time, i cant connect to the internet.

What can i do?

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 19 of 21
(888 Views)

ok, I jus spoke with a Verizon helper and he helped me with the router..

And after a speed test..ta daaaaaa..same crappy speed..

 

Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
SendBufferSize set to [522720]
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 47.95Mb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 55.31Mb/s

------ Client System Details ------
OS data: Name = Windows 7, Architecture = x86, Version = 6.1
Java data: Vendor = Oracle Corporation, Version = 1.7.0_07

------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
Client Receive Window detected at 249600 bytes.
622 Mbps OC-12 link found.
Link set to Half Duplex mode
No network congestion discovered.
Good network cable(s) found
Normal duplex operation found.

Web100 reports the Round trip time = 11.82 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
There were 273 packets retransmitted, 3255 duplicate acks received, and 3371 SACK blocks received
The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
This connection is receiver limited 3.71% of the time.
Increasing the the client's receive buffer (243.0 KB) will improve performance
This connection is sender limited 64.98% of the time.
This connection is network limited 31.31% of the time.

Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON
Packet size is preserved End-to-End
Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the 

 

 

im going to cancel the "service" with fios..

Im very disappointed, it supposed to be the fastest internet connection in US, but its slow as hell for being a fiber.

a DSL connection runs faster..

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-10-2011

Re: Having speed issues

Message 20 of 21
(884 Views)

I'm laughing..I can't believe I just came across this thread.  I have the same issues!!!  I'm in the Tampa Bay area and am supposed to have 25 / 25 Mbps Fios speeds.  I did for about 16 months, then it started to slow down considerably. My upload speeds are always less than 50% of my download speeds.  I've had several techs here and they said the problem is NOT in my house.  One tech said the problem is with the PON card (or PAWN card or POND card) and it's at Verizon.  It's a major hassle for them to change it.  Not only do I have a speed issue with Fios, but my TV picture freezes and pixelates (on 3 different TVs with 3 differnt type set top boxes) and I get echo on my phone when I talk.  So I did the following:

  • Replaced all the coax in my house.
  • Replaced all the connectors in my house.
  • Verizon replaced my router (3x).
  • They also changed the box outside my house twice.
  • I've used the latest version of IE 9 as well as the latest version of Google Chrome.
  • Replaced the nic cards in my computers.
  • Replaced all my Cat 5e.
  • I've run speed tests on 2 desk tops, 3 laptops, 1 tablet, 1 Sony Playstation, Samsung "Smart TV", and 2 cell phones that connect via Sprint's AiRave (so it's like voip) and the upload speed still sucks!  It doesn't matter if these devices are hooked up wirelessly or hardwired. Even had one tech use his Panasonic ToughBook laptop wired to my router and he had problems as well..
  • I've run tests at Ookla, Speedtest.net, BrightHouse, Comcast, Visualware, Speakeasy, ZD Net, AND I've gone to the site set up by the FCC at broadband.gov.  There are more sites, but I'm sure you get the drift.  EVERY site showed the same results.  Downloads at 25+ Mbps and uploads rarely reaching 14 Mbps.  Usually around 8 - 9 MBps, sometimes as low as 0.001 Mbps.
  • The ONLY site that shows decent speeds is Verizon's own site, but that's not really going "out" in to the internet, it's more like staying in a LAN.  80% of the time, their speed test freezes and won't complete.

Last Friday, 2 techs were here, turned on my TV and saw a frozen picture, then one of them asked me if I hit the pause button?  The control was in his hand!  He went to another channel, it was OK, went back to the first one and it was still frozen  We all tried speed tests on different computers at different sites. They ran tests showing my ping rate was up to 30 ms on numerous occasions and Jitter was really high as well.  Even though it still showed bad results or we couldn't even get on to Verizon's test site, their verdict was that as long as his computer got a good reading on Verizon's site...everything is OK!

 

Since then, I don't know what they did, but now my download speed is really slow and my upload is better.  Like I said, "for the first 16 months, both speeds were similar". Now there are huge discrepancies, but according to Verizon, everything is OK

 

You ever get the feeling that corporate America is just raping the regular people.  I've been paying for something that they're not delivering, but that's OK.  However, should I chose to hold back payment because I'm not getting what I'm paying for, they'll put me out for collection.

 

I just can't win.  Now I just received a letter from them  asking me to sign up for another 2 years! Smiley Very Happy  I almost choked! 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.