Having speed issues

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Having speed issues

Message 1 of 21
(1,077 Views)

Hello guys, im new here.

I got fios internet this morning and i already have problem with the speed.

I subscribed for a 150Mb and im getting a 20/25 Mb tops in down if im lucky.

I already contacted the verizon helper by chat and he/she told me to wait 2 hrs(5 hrs ago) to switch the attual connection 20Mb to the connection requested by me (150Mb) , (this is the first time i hear such thing but still..)

so, after 5 hrs the connection is still the same.

Ive been trying to test it for hrs, using different websites/servers, downloading isos,games etc..

this is what i get with speedtest

 

 

Any helps?

Thank you in advance.

20 REPLIES 20
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Having speed issues

Message 2 of 21
(1,064 Views)

well the speedtest sites don't have the updated speedtest client so try testing at http://speedtest.verizon.net/fios300

make sure you are hardwired, and then post your results here

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 3 of 21
(1,058 Views)

Untitled.jpg

it looks fake to me..but still..its slow anyway since i should get 150Mb or atleast something close to 150

 

Ive been using this website to test the speed for years..here

n here the cs

 

Untitled.jpg

 

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Having speed issues

Message 4 of 21
(1,050 Views)

for some reason the images haven't uploaded yet, so i can't see them.  up until recently there were few test servers that could handle over 100mb tests.     so the speedtest.net website didn't get the update yet but, if you are right.  on 150 you should at least get 150 if not 155, like most people.   did they give you the double antenna red band, router?  the model is mi424 rev I

 

in order to get over 100mb, you also have to be hooked up to the service terminal with ethernet, so make sure that they set you up with an ethernet cord that goes into the ethernet WAN slot.

 

you should have a gigabit nic card on your machine.   

 

do one more test at http://speedtest.verizon.net (without the fios 300) and then there is a little analysis or details link. make sure to click that link and copy and paste those results too.  st analysis.jpg

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 5 of 21
(1,043 Views)

model is MI424-WR REV F

and yes im connected by  ethernet cable (i dont usually use wifi cos i want to get all the speed)

 

and on the verizon test (w/o 300) it doesnt start, it keep saying: "testing in progress" .

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Having speed issues

Message 6 of 21
(1,009 Views)

give the optimizer a shot and lets see if it does anything for you.   

have you tried that just yet?  http://my.verizon.com/micro/speedoptimizer/fios/default.aspx

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Having speed issues

Message 7 of 21
(1,003 Views)

@so0oulja wrote:

model is MI424-WR REV F

and yes im connected by  ethernet cable (i dont usually use wifi cos i want to get all the speed)

 

and on the verizon test (w/o 300) it doesnt start, it keep saying: "testing in progress" .


My experience is that problem is caused by not having Java enabled or installed in your browser.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 8 of 21
(971 Views)

and here we go:

 

Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
SendBufferSize set to [8192]
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 11.51Mb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 53.86Mb/s

------ Client System Details ------
OS data: Name = Windows 7, Architecture = x86, Version = 6.1
Java data: Vendor = Oracle Corporation, Version = 1.7.0_07

------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
Client Receive Window detected at 253952 bytes.
622 Mbps OC-12 link found.
Link set to Half Duplex mode
Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
Good network cable(s) found
Normal duplex operation found.

Web100 reports the Round trip time = 10.84 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
There were 121 packets retransmitted, 2202 duplicate acks received, and 2271 SACK blocks received
The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
This connection is sender limited 78.48% of the time.
This connection is network limited 20.11% of the time.

Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON
Packet size is preserved End-to-End
Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address

 

I tried to contact the verizon chat support again..He told me he and his team were working on it ,but after 10 mins ta-daahh..connection down.

so, This is the real status about my internet speed:

 

speedtest.net says I have 22 in down and 21 in up

verizon test says i have 50, sometime 60 in down and 60 sumtin in up

other online speed tests say ive 20 in down and 20 sumtin in up

on the debian website i keep getting around 20Mb

 

im gonna wait till tomorrow to see what happens, then ill decide what

i cant pay 150 bucks for a 20-25Mb

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Having speed issues

Message 9 of 21
(917 Views)

that 8192 number looks incredibly low to me,  you might in fact need to optimize .   The half duplex discovery on that test should show full duplex as well.   if they haven't tried a new router then that is one step (you replace those at the local verizon stores), possibly a bad Network terminal, or further up on their end of the equation.  They would need to send a tech out if you have those settings optimized, tried a new router and it's showing half duplex still.   It could even be the ethernet cord itself (I've seen wierder things)

 

 

most people on that plan get their subscribed bandwidth so try to get the router replaced and maybe a tech visit.  

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Having speed issues

Message 10 of 21
(847 Views)

They are going to replace the router next monday.

still..its not a router or ethernet card problem ( I got  70Mb all the time (75/35 Mb  subscription) in NY with rcn using this laptop)

I think its something else because every night , dunno why i  get 5Mb or less in down.

This is what i got tonight.

 

 

Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
SendBufferSize set to [522720]
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 51.66Mb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 2.73Mb/s
Packet size is preserved End-to-End
Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address

 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.