Help? Can I change my WEP key on my router?
Emma816

Hi All...

I'm a newbie to these forums and I have a question... Can I change my WEP key on my FiOS wireless router?  (Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. D)

My neighbor, who also watches our dog when we go on holiday, has been using my internet from his house.  He freely admitted this.  My FiOS is much faster than his throttled Comcast and since he's a power user (torrents) he frequently uses my internet connection for all his massive downloads.  His usage knocks me off PS3 and noticeably slows my internet speeds down.

I know he has my IP and WEP since he spends weeks at a time in my house.  I'd like to change my WEP key and keep it hidden from him.  

How can I kick him off and prevent him from hopping back on?

Thanks in advance.

Emma

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Help? Can I change my WEP key on my router?
CapnCrunch
Contributor - Level 2

Yes, you can.  Without getting into the issues wit your neighbor, which is crazy that he can connect faster from your connection next door than his own is ridiculous.

Username: admin

Password: Use the serial number on the bottom of your wireless gateway.

After logging in click on 'Wireless Settings" icon.

Click on 'Basic Security Settings'

Before you move on to creating a new WEP key be sure to write it down and keep it in a safe place

Go to

5.Select a WEP Key 

NOTE: - To create a 64/40 WEP Hex Key, you need to enter a combination of 10 digits. You can choose any letter from A-F or any number from 0-9. Sample HEX WEP Key: 0FB310FF28.

- To create a 64/40 WEP ASCII, you need to enter a combination of 5 ASCII characters. Sample ASCII WEP Key: hello.

- When finished this click 'Apply' and wait for it to save.  Then you can close your browser window and you're all set. 

View solution in original post

CapnCrunch
Contributor - Level 2