Help with Basement Internet
EBox

Hi everyone:

Bit of a newbie here and would welcome someone's opinion on improving my basement internet signal.

I have Verizon Fios 100 Mbps right now, and pending upgrade to 400 Mbps in 2 weeks.  I already have gotten the G3100 router and have seen improved speeds alone on that up to 130 Mbps from the previous G1100 router.

I have the ONT in the basement, and the G3100 on my top floor (where most of the computing is done), with an Eero connected to the G3100.  I have an Eero beacon in my basement which provides some WiFi, but only about 35 MBps.

I would like to improve the basement signal, and have a lot of coax connections down here.  I tried to connect my old G1100 to the Coax and make it into a moca bridge - found online instructions and disabled the DHCP, set up a static IP, disabled wireless, etc.  When I connected my basement computer via Ethernet to the G1100, it was blazing at 135 Mbps for about 3 minutes.  And then it went down, along with the entire system in my house.  Once I disconnected the G1100 from Coax, the Eeros went back online.  I tried this a few times and the same result happened again and again.

Does anyone have any suggestions how I can optimize my basement internet speed - again, I have a bunch of coax down here (no ethernet ports) and Eero is not too great.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

0 Likes
Re: Help with Basement Internet
appDev
Contributor - Level 1

Not a solution, but to me, sounds like the G1110 was trying to become the primary router on the network /causing doublenatting. Although you have already disabled DHCP, so that shouldn't be an issue.

Guess i have a followup question - can the incoming signal from the ONT and the "ethernet-moca" signal be on the same coax cable? Especially if the signal is via coax (for lower speeds)? Or the G3100 in this case needs to feed back another signal using a moca bridge from a lan port?

Cang_Household
Community Leader
Community Leader