Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2010

High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 1 of 7
(4,124 Views)

For the past couple weeks I've been getting some pretty awful pings during the late night hours (12am - Morning). During the day, the pings seem fine. This is a pretty solid issue for me because I'm mostly using the internet/gaming during the nights and into early morning. About an hour ago I ran a ping to google and got over 2000 ms for each hop. Here is a current traceroute (which isn't as bad as it normally is):

 

Tracing route to google.com [72.14.204.99]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  3    49 ms   230 ms   566 ms  173.64.99.1
  4   443 ms   587 ms   381 ms  130.81.137.218
  5   408 ms   386 ms   482 ms  130.81.28.80
  6    99 ms    88 ms    63 ms  152.63.34.21
  7   519 ms    74 ms   571 ms  4.68.63.245
  8   779 ms   384 ms   952 ms  4.68.17.197
  9   377 ms   366 ms    99 ms  4.79.168.210
 10   177 ms   330 ms   283 ms  216.239.48.108
 11   294 ms   234 ms   280 ms  66.249.94.54
 12   358 ms   209 ms   260 ms  72.14.204.99

 

And here is a current ping to google:

 

Pinging google.com [72.14.204.99] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=223ms TTL=53
Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=151ms TTL=53
Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=177ms TTL=53
Reply from 72.14.204.99: bytes=32 time=185ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 72.14.204.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 151ms, Maximum = 223ms, Average = 184ms

 

There's a pretty large thread over at dslreports with people having the same issue. I've posted there as well and figured I should come over to Verizon's forum to see if I could get some help with this. I've tried running directly from the ActionTec router to my computer and also running from a normal router setup and both ways result in ridiculous pings at night. I've read that resetting the ONT might fix it. Any ideas?

 

If there's any more information you need, let me know and I'll post it.

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,024
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 2 of 7
(4,071 Views)

#1 What is the model and Version of that ActionTec router?

 

For example, ActionTec MI-424-MI, Rev C.

 

#2 What is the brand and model of the other router?

 

#3 What software firewall is on your computer?

 

#4 How do you have these two routers setup:

 

a) Internet -> ActionTec -> Other router?

 

b) Internet -> Other router -> ActionTec?

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2010

Re: High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 3 of 7
(4,040 Views)

Hello, thanks for getting back to me.

 

The ActionTec is an MI242-WR Rev F. My other router is a Belkin F5D8236-4 v2. The only firewall I'm currently running is the Windows 7 Firewall. And right now I've unplugged my Belkin and am just connecting directly from the ActionTec. As soon as I made the switch back to directly connecting, the pings went back down to ~20ms and have been for about 4-5 hours now. Though I'm expecting them to churn back up as the night goes on, as that's what I experienced the first time I removed my Belkin router from my setup.

 

Originally when I had my Belkin plugged in, I just had an ethernet from the LAN port on the ActionTec going to the internet port on my router. And from my router I connected in everything I needed connected to the internet.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,024
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 4 of 7
(3,990 Views)

Ok.

 

#1 In the Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 go to Channel and SSID

 

#2 What is the Wireless Mode (for example Mixed: 11b+11g)

 

#3 What is ESSID Broadcast, set to?

 

#4 In the Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 go to Security.

 

#5 What is the Allowed Client Type set to?

 

#6 In the Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 go to MAC Address Filtering.

 

#7 Is that enabled or disabled?

 

#8 In the Belkin F5D8236-4 v2 go to System Settings.

 

#9 If you do not have at least two game consoles behind this router, turn off UPnP in the router.

 

By game console, a special type of computer with no keyboard or mouse (and it/they are usually connected to a TV).

 

That is plenty of things to check for now. Please do the steps, and report back.

 

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2010

Re: High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 5 of 7
(3,949 Views)

As I expected, the pings eventually flowed up around 12-1 am last night. They are still 100-200ms at the moment. So I've plugged my Belkin back in to get you all the information:

 

Wireless Mode: 802.11b & 802.11g & 802.11n

I don't see ESSID Broadcast but I do see Broadcast SSID and that has a checked checkbox next to it.

Under the Security tab, I don't see anything about Allowed Client Type. All that is there is WEP Key/Passphrase configurations. I have a 64bit WEP key setup for Wireless.

 

MAC Address Filtering is not enabled.

 

And I've only got one Xbox 360 hooked up to the router, so I've turned off UPnP.

 

And here's a current traceroute to google.com:

 

Tracing route to google.com [72.14.204.99]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  3    77 ms   107 ms   115 ms  173.64.99.1
  4    95 ms   134 ms   160 ms  130.81.137.218
  5   167 ms   131 ms   132 ms  130.81.28.80
  6    47 ms    77 ms   100 ms  152.63.37.117
  7   139 ms   124 ms   107 ms  152.63.0.182
  8    65 ms   118 ms    98 ms  152.63.21.117
  9     *      169 ms   139 ms  152.179.72.62
 10   192 ms   131 ms   118 ms  209.85.252.215
 11   136 ms   135 ms   178 ms  209.85.249.11
 12   154 ms   157 ms   128 ms  66.249.94.54
 13   141 ms    98 ms   137 ms  72.14.204.99

 

My pings have an insane amount of jitter.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,024
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 6 of 7
(3,937 Views)

WEP has been badly hacked.

 

#1 If you are not using Wireless, turn off the wireless feature in the router.

 

#2 If you are using Wireless:

 

a) Change the setting in the router to WPA.

 

b) Change the setting on all computers that use Wireless to WPA.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2010

Re: High Pings at Night - Baltimore, MD

Message 7 of 7
(3,935 Views)

Okay, I've turned off all wireless on the Belkin. But what about when I was going directly from the ActionTec to my computer for internet and still experiencing the ping? I don't have wireless enabled on the ActionTec.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.