Horrible Speed with Gigabit Connection
BLKWHTTSI
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello everyone,

I am new to the fios world. I purchased the gigabit speed and have a fios router as well. I should also note I do live in a pretty old house built with plaster walls in 1954. However I did not think that this would affect my wifi speed as much as it does.

As I said I have the gigabyte connection and when I do speed tests to the router I get the gigabit speed however my problem lies where I go from the router to devices. Device tests only ranged from about a 100 megabits to 120 megabits up/down. Tests were done with a Galaxy s9, iphone 6s, and a 2 year old Surface Pro standing not 2 feet from the router. I also have an Andriod streaming box ethernetted in and it too only sees 115 megabits. Obviously this is an extreme letdown for me. What could I possibly do I have already upgraded my ethernet cables from Fios box to router and router to Andriod streaming box. There is still an old coax cable from fios box to router, could change that if its a problem.

Calls to verizon have not helped as they either blame my house or my devices.

Tags (4)
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Horrible Speed with Gigabit Connection
jonjones1
Legend

That would be great but there is a flaw in your analogy.

certain devices do not connect at AC/A due to the radios in the devices.

and on 2.4 Ghz although great for distance many devices on that band do not use “N”

the connection is device dependent under WiFi.

like the other poster, they are saying it should be faster under their gigabyte connection on WiFi. This is not the case. Again WiFi is device and distance dependent.

it also is dependent on external antenna versus internal antenna and if beam forming is on the router (Verizon Quantum Gateway Router has internal antennas) and is famous for terrible WiFi speeds and coverage. Google it, and read more on it.