×

Switch Account

How do I extend internet to on-site trailer?

How do I extend internet to on-site trailer?

Reply
Contributor 3pointers
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 1 of 6
(7,121 Views)

I have the westell wireles router/modem in our family room on the north side of the house.  We have Fios TV, a computer,  laptop, and 2 game systems accessing the system in the same room, which is why we had it installed there.

 

I have a trailer on the south side of the house with 2 rooms and a garage inbetween.  I was successful in extending the phone and Fios TV to the trailer, but the wireless signal is not strong enough.

 

I would like to be able to use a laptop wirelessly out there as well as the ability to use a printer in the trailer as well.  

 

What do I need in order to accomplish this?

Message Edited by 3pointers on 07-22-2009 09:00 PM
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 2 of 6
(7,110 Views)

You have several  choices.

1). You can run a CAT5 cable out the WAN port on the router to the trailer, and install a wireless access point in the trailer connected to the other end of the Cat5 cable, or

 

2) You can buy a wireless repeater/ extender device that  can act as a relay such as a Netgear WG602 in 'relay'  mode or a D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G710  for example.

 

3). You can try installing a high gain antenna on either the westell modem/router and or the devices in the trailer.

 

4). You may be able to move the Westell to a 'better' location that could serve  both the house and the trailer.

 

These choice are in order of likely success. I can guarantee you that running a cat 5 cable from the router to the trailer and installing a wireless access point in the trailer will work.A high quality CAT 5 cable should be capable of a 325 foot (100 meter) run.

 

The odds on getting the necessary range to the trailer via a wireless repeater depend upon what the total distance that has to covered is.

 

High gain antennae may or may not work, and relocating the router may or may not be helpful.

Message Edited by jmw1950 on 07-23-2009 11:17 AM
Message Edited by jmw1950 on 07-23-2009 11:18 AM
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 3 of 6
(7,063 Views)
Just one correction to what JMW1950 said. On step 1. that should be LAN port, not WAN  Smiley Wink



====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 4 of 6
(7,037 Views)

@spacedebris wrote:
Just one correction to what JMW1950 said. On step 1. that should be LAN port, not WAN  Smiley Wink

Wow good catch. I must be vision impaired.Smiley Very Happy

Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 5 of 6
(6,673 Views)
he actuallly could have plugged the cat5 into the computer, too, thgir ?
cjacobs001
Contributor 3pointers
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 6 of 6
(6,606 Views)

Thank you for the responses. 

 

Turns out I didn't need to do anything.  The laptop is now connecting fine.  I'm guessing I was in a bad spot when I was trying to get a signal previously.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.