How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-24-2020

How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 1 of 5
(9,955 Views)

We recently for Gigabit and have a G3100 router. By default it has one SSID (Fios-xxxxxx but I changed it to "speedy") that has both 2.4 and 5ghz on it. I cannot seem to find out on myfiosgateway.com where I would go about making these two separate SSIDs (ex: speedy2.4 only working with 2.4ghz and speedy5 only working with 5ghz). Is it even possible on this router? If so, how do I do it?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 2 of 5
(9,955 Views)

You have to disable SON first. 
Go to Wireless Settings/Advanced Security Settings/ Other Advanced Wireless Options/Self-Organizing Network Enabled and set to Off

Then under basic settings you have to rename the 5G SSID. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 2 of 5
(9,956 Views)

You have to disable SON first. 
Go to Wireless Settings/Advanced Security Settings/ Other Advanced Wireless Options/Self-Organizing Network Enabled and set to Off

Then under basic settings you have to rename the 5G SSID. 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-14-2020

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 3 of 5
(4,597 Views)

If you rename the SSID, will FIOS STB's still work?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,719
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 4 of 5
(4,560 Views)

Yes, the set-tops will work fine.  The FiOS routers create a completely separate, hidden WiFi network for the FiOS ONE set-top-boxes.  SSID changes do not affect this network.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 5 of 5
(4,100 Views)

the "off" button is greyed out.  How do I separate the networks.  Half of my devices won't connect to 5g.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.