Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-24-2020

How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 1 of 5
(21,605 Views)

We recently for Gigabit and have a G3100 router. By default it has one SSID (Fios-xxxxxx but I changed it to "speedy") that has both 2.4 and 5ghz on it. I cannot seem to find out on myfiosgateway.com where I would go about making these two separate SSIDs (ex: speedy2.4 only working with 2.4ghz and speedy5 only working with 5ghz). Is it even possible on this router? If so, how do I do it?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,931
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 2 of 5
(21,628 Views)

You have to disable SON first. 
Go to Wireless Settings/Advanced Security Settings/ Other Advanced Wireless Options/Self-Organizing Network Enabled and set to Off

Then under basic settings you have to rename the 5G SSID. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,931
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 2 of 5
(21,629 Views)

You have to disable SON first. 
Go to Wireless Settings/Advanced Security Settings/ Other Advanced Wireless Options/Self-Organizing Network Enabled and set to Off

Then under basic settings you have to rename the 5G SSID. 

View solution in original post

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-14-2020

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 3 of 5
(16,228 Views)

If you rename the SSID, will FIOS STB's still work?

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,797
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 4 of 5
(16,191 Views)

Yes, the set-tops will work fine.  The FiOS routers create a completely separate, hidden WiFi network for the FiOS ONE set-top-boxes.  SSID changes do not affect this network.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: How do I get separate SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz on Fios G3100

Message 5 of 5
(15,731 Views)

the "off" button is greyed out.  How do I separate the networks.  Half of my devices won't connect to 5g.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.