quick menu

How to Get the Fastest FiOS Speed

How to Get the Fastest FiOS Speed

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor Stagent
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-19-2017
Message 91 of 99
(5,889 Views)

yeah...did all that. this is what i get. And its kinda tiring to hear from verizon that its my home computer. Tested 2 nites ago around 9:30pm and got 882 on the download. Figured all my complaining got me somewhere. Now this 2 days later. Up until this week, i had at least been getting around 750 down consistently. This has been a running joke from the start. The caveat is "up to"...i get it. But this is ridiculous. This is a wired PC. 

Contributor williadw1955
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-24-2015
Message 92 of 99
(5,592 Views)

Also.... if you are wireless, make sure your wireless connection is set to use the fastest wireless protocol available to you that also matches your router, not just the 1st one it grabs onto. This can be set in the wireless properties of your laptop or wireless device.

Contributor heywardjr
Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 93 of 99
(5,188 Views)

The Apple Broadband Tuner app is not supported anymore by Apple. The last few major OS updates take care of the settings this was changing so the Tuner is no longer applicable. Verizon needs to stop recommending this.

Copper Contributor Anderson
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-21-2014
Message 94 of 99
(5,095 Views)

 


williadw1955 wrote:

Also.... if you are wireless, make sure your wireless connection is set to use the fastest wireless protocol available to you that also matches your router, not just the 1st one it grabs onto. This can be set in the wireless properties of your laptop or wireless device.


And for us newbies, "how" do you do that in a windows 10 laptop or an android phone?

Contributor boxster
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
i802.11ac enabled to support speeds up to 1300 Mbps wirelessly
Contributor Kittyfuzz
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-20-2017
Message 96 of 99
(4,078 Views)

I recently got the the Gigabit service. I tried eaverything to get the speed advertised. Using SpeedTestNet. I got this speed.  http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6898225606. A widows 10 Regisry tweak to prevent Widows from limiting Network bamdwidth.

Contributor Kittyfuzz
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-20-2017
Message 97 of 99
(4,075 Views)

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile. Change theHex vale of NetworkThrottlingIndex to FFFFFFFF click OK, and restart the PC.

Copper Contributor gg786
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-04-2015
Message 98 of 99
(920 Views)

You just pay for nothing, Fios is as good as not having internet atleast couple of times in a month. Just because of monopoly in lot of areas, they don' provide good service at all.

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7,693
Registered: ‎03-18-2013
Message 99 of 99
(916 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
My Fios App

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios