Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

IP is blocked

Reply
balky
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-29-2020

IP is blocked

Message 1 of 6
(631 Views)

Recently I've started experiencing strange things. Browsing to certain cites suddenly require verification that I am human. That verification is done by cloudflare.com.

 

Also, some services stop working: I transfer name of songs and album pic to my website, as well as song names to twitter and tunein.com
That stops working with a message: connection closed gracefully or timed out.

The second I renew IP, all becomes normal for a few days, and then all starts again.

It is clearly something going on down the road and my IP is blocked. The question is WHY? This is not what I am paying for to verizon. I would like to fix this but do not know how. Verizon does not help much. All they do is offer to renew ip address, which solves it for a short period of time 4-7 days. Evidently, verizon's ip's get blocked for some reason.

 

I am really sick of this problem. Please help.

I hope this message gets to the right place and assistance will be on the way.

Thank you

 

 

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1106240  read more here

5 REPLIES 5
jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,292
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: IP is blocked

Message 2 of 6
(610 Views)

My quick solution is to use a home vpn like NordVPN.

it bypasses all that Verizon hassle.

 

sometimes the IP addresses were used by spammers and the address is blocked.

there could be other reasons but it’s not worth the hassle.

 

there are also free virtual private network companies but I use nord which costs money for a three year term.

 

 

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor IV Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,010
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: IP is blocked

Message 3 of 6
(597 Views)

Make sure you don't have unauthorized software (malware) on your computer sending excessive amounts of requests for no reason.

 

Another possibility is that your entire WAN subnet is blocked for some reason. To pull an IP address from a different subnet, you need to keep renewing the IP address.

balky
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-29-2020

Re: IP is blocked

Message 4 of 6
(588 Views)

I do not have anything UNauthorized

 

That happens on ALL computers, Iphones, Ipads that are connected to the same network.

 

The only solution so far is to renew IP, but it only helps for a few days.  I do not understand at all WHAT changed and Why suddenly this is heppening.

 

balky
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-29-2020

Re: IP is blocked

Message 5 of 6
(587 Views)

As much money as I pay to Verizon, I simply cannot afford to invest in some VPN services.    I do not even get it WHY this is happening.  Why verizon does not want to investigate this matter Why their ip's get blacklisted.

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: IP is blocked

Message 6 of 6
(579 Views)

FYI, you're talking to customers here.  Nobody here can tell you why Verizon does what they do (or don't do.)  The folk here will continue to give you ideas on how to deal with the issue, if you want.

 

If you want to re-engage with Verizon, I suggest you contact their social media support team.  You can do that by tweeting @verizonsupport or posting over in https://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzdirect

 

I've been using FiOS for years with only a handful of IP address changes.  I've never had my IP blacklisted.  I do get the occasional captcha, which I fill out.  It could be something on one of your systems, or maybe a network neighbor is running a server that is getting flagged.

 

Testing with a VPN is one way to diagnose the issue.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title