quick menu

IPv6 for Residential Customers

IPv6 for Residential Customers

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor pchc_lx
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-18-2016
Message 31 of 37
(995 Views)

Can confirm I have working ipv6 here on FIOS now.

Awesome.

Copper Contributor glnz2
Copper Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 32 of 37
(990 Views)

pchc_lx - where are you?

Copper Contributor glnz2
Copper Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 33 of 37
(987 Views)

 

Hey, gang - Please give us a step-by-step for TRYING to enable this in the G1100 Quantum gateway/modem/router for VZ FIOS 1Gbps service (which I've had since April).
I'm in NYC, and I want to see if I can get ipV6.

Also -
a) I already programmed my G1100 to use Cloudflare's 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 for DNS. HOw should I change that for ipV6?
b) On only ONE of our devices - a Win 7 Pro 64-bit PC - I have installed Simple DNSCrypt, which in turn runs the dnscrypt-proxy service on that PC, and so DNS queries from that PC only are encrypted. I suppose on that one I should ENABLE Simple DNSCrypt's ipV6 function IF I see ipV6 working first.
c) Nothing special like that on any of our numerous other computers or devices - they just connect to the G1100 by ethernet cable or WiFi.
d) Some of our devices are PC, and some are Apple, including an iMac, a MacBook, two iPads, an iPhone, etc.
SO - does any of this mean that I should AVOID the ipV6 settings on my router for now because maybe one of our devices won't like it?

ALSO - does ipV6 mean that we no longer have a protected home network and that all of our devices are exposed to the internet because each will have its own EXTERNAL ipV6 number? Is that a danger?

MANY THANKS !!!!
 

Contributor Shmerl
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-11-2018
Message 34 of 37
(638 Views)

Any idea how to set it up in DD-WRT? I set it as "Native IPv6 from ISP", but it doesn't seem to be working.

Copper Contributor JJKiv
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-20-2018
Message 35 of 37
(588 Views)

The Cloudflare IPv6 address is 111,2606:4700:4700::1001

Contributor chapie
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 36 of 37
(566 Views)

Here as well in SOuth Jersey.  I was messing around with my router and I stumbled upon it working by accident. I noticed the check box for enable was no longer greyed out.

Contributor VegasJH
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-04-2015
Message 37 of 37
(94 Views)

Outside of Pittsburgh I just upgraded to Gigabit, still not getting IPV6. I have enabled it on the Quantum Gateway router already.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
My Fios App
Fios TV App
Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios