×

Switch Account

IPv6 support and ICMP being blocked

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

IPv6 support and ICMP being blocked

Message 1 of 10
(796 Views)

New to FIOS in the NY Area and wanted to know if IPv6 is supported. Also, trying to setup a 4to6 tunnel with Hurricane Electric and the ICMP keeps failing (blocked) even though I have a firewall rule to allow ICMP. I had the tunnel setup working fine with Optimum so I'm wondering if ICMP is being blocked at Verizons end.

 

Edit: yes, Verizon is blocking ICMP. Now how do I get them to allow them.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

I got the tunnel to work by setting IPv4 firewall rules t...

Message 8 of 10
(498 Views)

I got the tunnel to work by setting IPv4 firewall rules to allow ICMP through whereas the rules were set to allow ICMPv6 before.

 

Would be nice if FIOS natively supported IPv6.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,854
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: IPv6 support and ICMP being blocked

Message 2 of 10
(765 Views)

IPv6 seems to be only available in limited areas. 

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r32136440-Networking-IPv6-working

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

Appreciate the reply. I wasn't sure since it appears IPv6...

Message 3 of 10
(760 Views)

Appreciate the reply. I wasn't sure since it appears IPv6 could be all over the place where it works or not.

 

Still looking for an answer on why ICMP is being blocked since I can't setup the tunnel with my IP address.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: IPv6 support and ICMP being blocked

Message 4 of 10
(690 Views)

Are you running a Double NAT? For example, is the tunnel endpoint on your end sitting behind another router, or is it connected directly to the ONT?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

Re: IPv6 support and ICMP being blocked

Message 5 of 10
(684 Views)

ONT to my Edgerouter.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: IPv6 support and ICMP being blocked

Message 6 of 10
(681 Views)

Is the Hurricane Electric Looking Glass server able to ping and traceroute your Public IP? https://lg.he.net/

 

What does your router see when you trace-route to the Hurricane Electric tunnel with ICMP packets? There's an issue in many areas with FiOS where ICMP TTL Propagation doesn't work right, and traceroute data doesn't work right. But this shouldn't affect ICMP Ping to an endpoint. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

Traceroute from HE to my IP 1 ms 11 ms <1 ms 100ge14-2.co...

Message 7 of 10
(658 Views)

Traceroute from HE to my IP

1 ms 11 ms <1 ms 100ge14-2.core1.sjc2.he.net ({edited for privacy})
1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 0.ae12.BR3.SJC7.ALTER.NET (204.255.168.25)
72 ms 81 ms 102 ms HundredGigE3-4-0-0.NYCMNY-LCR-21.verizon-gni.NET (140.222.238.197)
87 ms 111 ms 99 ms ae203-0.NYCMNY-VFTTP-446.verizon-gni.net (100.41.129.101)

 

Traceroute from Router to HE

 

x@EdgeRouterX:~$ traceroute {edited for privacy}
traceroute to {edited for privacy} ({edited for privacy}), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
1 * * *
2 B3446.NYCMNY-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net (100.41.129.102) 16.499 ms B3446.NYCMNY-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net (100.41.129.100) 6.892 ms 7.583 ms
3 * * *
4 0.ae3.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET (140.222.1.59) 4.088 ms 0.ae4.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET (140.222.1.61) 2.688 ms 0.ae3.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET (140.222.1.59) 4.427 ms

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

I got the tunnel to work by setting IPv4 firewall rules t...

Message 8 of 10
(499 Views)

I got the tunnel to work by setting IPv4 firewall rules to allow ICMP through whereas the rules were set to allow ICMPv6 before.

 

Would be nice if FIOS natively supported IPv6.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-13-2020

Re: I got the tunnel to work by setting IPv4 firewall rules t...

Message 9 of 10
(47 Views)

Hi! Were you having issues setting up the tunnel or using it? I'm running into a bit of a strange issue right now in that I can set up the tunnel (ICMP ping works), but after sending a few packets of data over the tunnel, the connection just drops and doesn't work for ~20 minutes. It seems to me that 6in4 is getting blocked for some reason.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-24-2020

My problems

Message 10 of 10
(13 Views)

My problems were initially caused by both. ICMP being blocked on the IPV4 level gave me issues creating the tunnel. Then I experienced speed and connection issues on some sites that used IPv6, but I traced that down to the firmware my router was using. Once I downgraded to an older firmware, those issues resolved themselves.

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.