Initial FIOS Installation/Activation
JeliRoll90

I am new to FIOS (internet and phone) and have just scheduled my installation date. When I had DSL set up years ago, no one had to be home. All I had to do was connect the router and visit a website to agree to the terms and conditions and activate the service. The support materials on the subject on this site contradict each other and nothing is easy to find. I found a self-installation guide as well as a document saying that a Verizon technician has to do the entire set-up. I really can't take off of work right now to be here during their very inconvenient service windows (weekdays only, between 8 and 4), and I'd prefer not to ask any of my family or friends to take off of work to come sit in my apartment for 4-6 hours with nothing to do. 

Was anyone able to set up FIOS internet themselves? I don't actually have a home phone (they just force you to sign up for that as well), so it is only the internet that needs to be set up.

Thanks in advance for your help! 

0 Likes
Re: Initial FIOS Installation/Activation
Branch1
Enthusiast - Level 3

Unfortunately, Fios requires a tech to install an ONT, so you'll need to be home. 

CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

To expand on the previous comment.

FIOS services requires a device called an ONT.
This is the fiber termination that provides phone, Internet and TV.

Is your apartment already wired for FIOS?

Capricorn1
Community Leader
Community Leader

Just to expand on the expansion of the expansion Smiley Happy

DSL ran over the same pair of copper wires you had for land-line telephone service. After installing filters on all your phones, fax machines, answering machines, etc. to keep the voice and DSL signals separate, you just hooked up the DSL router (without a filter) to the phone line. (If you had never had phone service before they would have had to send a tech out for that installation, too.)