×

Switch Account

Internet Resets Every 2 Hours

Internet Resets Every 2 Hours

Reply
Contributor Scen
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-18-2018
Message 1 of 5
(875 Views)

Every 2 hours my internet connection resets. Devices lose internet for a few seconds then it comes back. I have a WD MyNet N750 router. Can anyone help?

4 REPLIES 4
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 5,728
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 2 of 5
(840 Views)

#1 While we know you have that NAT router, do you also use Verion FIOS's NAT router?

 

#2 Only if so:

 

a) What is the exact brand and model of their NAT router that they provided to you?

 

b) Do you also have FIOS TV?

 

#3 How are you connected to the network (Wired or wireless) ?

 

#4 On your WD MyNet N750 are you using official WesternDigital firmware or third party firmware ?

 

Note by third party firmware = Open-WRT, Gargoyle, ROOter by Of Modems and Men.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor Scen
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-18-2018
Message 3 of 5
(807 Views)

I do not use a fios router. My WD router is connected to a Verizon ONT. I chatted with Verizon support and they had me reset my router but the problem still occurred. Then they told me to use an Ethernet to plug directly in to the ONT and into my PC but the problem still occurred. So I now know it’s not the router. I told them it could be a DHCP lease time issue, but they ignored that. (This happens to all devices connected wireless and wired)

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 5,728
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 4 of 5
(767 Views)

I searched around and found a thread where the issue is solved.

 

Points to the thread https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/Losing-internet-service-every-2-hours/td-p/372051

 

and quotes, the part that most likely solves your issue

 


 wrote:

Checking through the settings on my router, it appears that Verizon provides only a 2 hour lease for my FIOS connection. (It's probably the same for everyone unless you have a static IP).


Speakng of which, let us do that now.

 

If the connection type is PPPoE, ignore this - something else is going on.

 

Only if the connection type is DHCP: Check what the lease time is.

 

As how to do that, depends on the OS and Version.

 

This example assumes that you are on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10.

 

a) Press the Windows Start key to open the Start screen.

b) Type cmd and press Enter to launch the command prompt.

Note: You do not need to click on anything on the Start screen—typing will automatically initiate a program search.

c) Type ipconfig /all at the command prompt to check the network card settings.

d) If not on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10 and you do not know how to check that network info - then post what is your OS and Version is.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 5,728
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 5
(765 Views)

If not on Windows, try these two commands as root/or with sudo - after you get to the command line.

 

#1 Do this first:


find / -name "dhclient*leases"

 

#2 Then:


cat /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.leases

 

Note: That command is command is based upon the results back for find / -name "dhclient*leases"

 

 

Like so..

 

 

user-name@pc-name:~$ sudo find / -name "dhclient*leases"
[sudo] password for user-name: 
find: ‘/run/user/1000/gvfs’: Permission denied
/var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.leases
^C
user-name@pc-name:~$ sudo cat /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.leases

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.