Internet connection problem when Windows 10 was installed...
Dr_Why
Enthusiast - Level 2

When I downloaded and installed Windows 10 replacing Windows 7, I could not connect to Verizon Fios internet.

As a former software engineer, I tried various fixes, but finally gave up, and re-installed Windows 7.

Are there any outstanding problems with connectivity after Windows 10 is installed?  My network runs on the relatively new Verizon router, the Actiontec MI424wr.

Thanks for any help you can provide..

Sincerely, Dr. Why  

{edited for privacy}

0 Likes
Re: Internet connection problem when Windows 10 was installed...
viafax999
Community Leader
Community Leader

I've done multiple win 7 to win 10 upgrades.  Had problems with several but not connectivity ones.

I would suspect that your issues is an bad nic driver.  You may want to look online and see if the nic in your machine is good for win 10.

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

@viafax999 wrote:

I've done multiple win 7 to win 10 upgrades.  Had problems with several but not connectivity ones.

I would suspect that your issues is an bad nic driver.  You may want to look online and see if the nic in your machine is good for win 10.

I can vouch for this.

A system at home experienced a symptom where it was able to establish a physical network link and acknowledge the link being there, however, the NIC would not pass traffic let alone get an IP address from the network. Fixing this required getting the driver from the Internet using another PC or another OS, then installing the latest driver.

The NIC in question was an Intel I-217V (PCI-E x1) baked into an ASUS Z87-Pro motherboard. I suspect the I-217V's issue is a bit more universal to the network card across other manufacturers though. This system had this issue with Windows 8, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10. All required getting the Drivers from Intel to fix.

billsanders244