Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Internet using coax

Reply
mbd1968
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-24-2010

Internet using coax

Message 1 of 5
(7,205 Views)

I'm trying to figure out a way to connect the electronics in my living room to the internet. The media Center box is in the same room so I have the coax connection and am able to connect an additional coax with no problem. Unfortunately as the main rourter is in my office which is at the other side of the house it would be a pain to run a cat5 cable as I would need about 50yds of cable and there is no easy way to get from the living room to the office router. So, i was wondering if i could get a router with a coax connecter to connect everything using coax to take advantage of the faster speeds for streaming HD.

 

Does anyone have any idea? Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
mattheww
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Internet using coax

Message 2 of 5
(7,186 Views)

They are fairly expensive, but you can buy a Coax (MoCa) to Ethernet Bridge, which would allow you to connect over the existing coax as long as the splitter in the Media center is bi-directional.

 

NetGear and Motorola both make these bridges.

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Internet using coax

Message 3 of 5
(7,134 Views)

@jmw1950 wrote:

They are fairly expensive, but you can buy a Coax (MoCa) to Ethernet Bridge, which would allow you to connect over the existing coax as long as the splitter in the Media center is bi-directional.

 

NetGear and Motorola both make these bridges.


You can buy a nim100 or another actiontec at ebay for real cheap, 60 bucks and under.

 

 

Motorola NIM 100

 

Actiontec MI424 Rev E

 

Actiontec MI424 Any Revision

mbd1968
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-24-2010

Re: Internet using coax

Message 4 of 5
(7,101 Views)

thanks guys.

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Internet using coax

Message 5 of 5
(6,993 Views)

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios/3.0_Networking#15984

 

 

instructions in case you need help.

 

Also this is what is considered an advanced set up by verizon, so although it works, you likely will see very little support for it if you run into a problem so if you run into a problem, your best bet would be to reach out to the guys at http://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzfiber  

 

they are the guys that found that solution, posted a faq on it, they can help you get it installed if you run into a problem with it.  there are also some vz techs that post there too so they might be able to help if you run into any major issues, but the instructions seem pretty straight forward.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.