×

Switch Account

Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 11 of 25
(14,852 Views)

 


@slash7 wrote:

Router channel did not matter:(


Likewise. I set to channel 11 and forced "G" only and still getting the drops. I'll set WAP2 next when I get a chance.

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 12 of 25
(14,766 Views)

This is working for me for the moment. I changed the router to add a block of ip's for static use. I then assigned a static ip to the iPad. I still get drops on occasion (modal dialog "connecting") but no password re-entry asked for.  Haven't had time to changeover to wpa2 but will see what that does later.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 13 of 25
(14,719 Views)

 


@jackreacher wrote:

This is working for me for the moment. I changed the router to add a block of ip's for static use. I then assigned a static ip to the iPad. I still get drops on occasion (modal dialog "connecting") but no password re-entry asked for.  Haven't had time to changeover to wpa2 but will see what that does later.


Nah...didn't work. Lasted a few hours longer (36 or so) before dropping WEP password. I guess WAP2 is all I have left other than buying and using a new wireless 'N' router....or returning the iPad for another.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-25-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 14 of 25
(14,575 Views)

I've been able to reproduce the problem with my iphone 3.1.3 as well as the ipad 3.2 Connecting to the actiontec REV. E router.

 

I had changed to WPA2 and "G" only..

 

I returned the ipad after constant failures on the wifi including the password prompt, but recently found several instances where I was not getting out to the internet on my iphone over wifi as well.. 

 

I can reproduce the problem by connecting to the wifi and an ARP request is made by the iphone.. 

 

I play a game of solitare and after about 8 minutes, restart the hand which prompts for an in-game ad.. at which point the actiontec router begins asking who has IP 192.168.1.3, I exit the game and find I have no internet connection yet my Icons all show I am connected to the router with strong signal coverage. RSSI of -40 to -50.. 

 

If I restart the hand after say 4 minutes, the iPhone makes another arp request  when I connect to the internet.. 

 

my guess is that the OS is setting the wifi card to low power mode and when needed again forgets to prompt for ARP request again which puts the actiontec in a sort of lockdown.. I have to either cycle the wireless by turning wifi off then back on, or putting to sleep then waking again and swiping.. 

 

Wireshark shows the arp request from the iphone on wakeup swipe..

 

Router makes several attempts to figure out who is on the network..  for aprox 2 minutes, while I try various internet connections (safari,facebook,twitter,mail)

 

6096 3334.652200 Actionte_7b:d5:e2 Broadcast ARP Who has 192.168.1.3?  Tell 192.168.1.1

 

iphone is put to sleep then woke up again.. 

 

6120 *REF* Apple_01:d9:05 Broadcast ARP Gratuitous ARP for 192.168.1.3 (Request)
6121 0.003176 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 192.168.1.1?  Tell 192.168.1.3
6122 0.129055 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 169.254.255.255?  Tell 192.168.1.3
6123 0.483371 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query ANY Aarons-iPhone.local, "QU" question
6124 0.534403 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 169.254.255.255?  Tell 192.168.1.3
6125 0.733342 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query ANY Aarons-iPhone.local, "QM" question
6126 0.939922 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 169.254.255.255?  Tell 192.168.1.3
6127 0.985914 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query ANY Aarons-iPhone.local, "QM" question
6128 1.179077 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query response PTR, cache flush Aarons-iPhone.local
6129 1.279865 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query response A, cache flush 192.168.1.3

6120 *REF* Apple_01:d9:05 Broadcast ARP Gratuitous ARP for 192.168.1.3 (Request)

6121 0.003176 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 192.168.1.1?  Tell 192.168.1.3

6122 0.129055 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 169.254.255.255?  Tell 192.168.1.3

6123 0.483371 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query ANY Aarons-iPhone.local, "QU" question

6124 0.534403 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 169.254.255.255?  Tell 192.168.1.3

6125 0.733342 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query ANY Aarons-iPhone.local, "QM" question

6126 0.939922 Apple_01:Z9:15 Broadcast ARP Who has 169.254.255.255?  Tell 192.168.1.3

6127 0.985914 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query ANY Aarons-iPhone.local, "QM" question

6128 1.179077 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query response PTR, cache flush Aarons-iPhone.local

6129 1.279865 192.168.1.3 224.0.0.251 MDNS Standard query response A, cache flush 192.168.1.3

 

 

it appears the iphone and ipad both have a problem with the latest OS firmware.. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-16-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 15 of 25
(14,266 Views)

My last posting on this.I did all of the following:

- Channel 11 only

- "G" frequency only

- WPA2

- Static IP with hard coded DNS

- Reset iPad Network settings completely (Settings->General->Reset->Reset Network Settings)

 

Things work great for a while. Sometimes a day or two. Then eventually I get a period of hours in which it drops and reconnects. I admit it's better with WPA since there is now no prompt for a password. Guess I'll wait for next firmware.

 

Kudos to "amfbluffer" for the Wireshark dump and info.

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎10-09-2009

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 16 of 25
(14,255 Views)

From what I've been reading it is actually a hardware issue with the Wi-Fi antenna located behind the apple on the back of the ipad.  Also the fact that the ipad lays flat on its back and the receptor will also be masked by the table or whatever it is laying on. 

Frank
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 17 of 25
(13,316 Views)

I got new iPad, and love it. had NOOOO trouble using it with Comcast service and Linksys that we use at one location. Loved it. Worked w/o any problem.

But then I went home. to Fios. couldn't get iPad to work. never used iPhone at home but know it has worked in other locations (wifi on planes, for goodness sake).

 

More I read here. And the less help Verizon offers. Makes me wonder why I swithced to Fios.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 18 of 25
(13,292 Views)

This was an extremely helpful suggestion, thanks! I changed my router to only be on 802.11g and that seemed to do the trick! Thanks again. I LOVE my iPad!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 19 of 25
(13,242 Views)

Change WEP to WPA or WPA2

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Ipad not working with Fios wireless Router

Message 20 of 25
(13,202 Views)

Well, this is very well known problem with iPAD and Apple tries to silently solve it. http://www.net.princeton.edu/announcements/ipad-iphoneos32-stops-renewing-lease-keeps-using-IP-addre... would help you.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.