×

Switch Account

Is FIOS Internet slow?

Is FIOS Internet slow?

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 11 of 24
(8,459 Views)

Thanks to all of you who've responded so far. My transmission rate is set to 54 so that's not the problem. The problem may be related to a combination of FIOS and windows Vista. More info can be found here:

https://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=3754799&SiteID=17

 

When the globe disappears, the slowness problem increases, and when the globe is present speed is as advertised. Perhaps verizon tech support can shed some light on the problem. Would appreciated it immensely.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 12 of 24
(8,411 Views)
My tech support guy said transmission should be automatic not 54. He says 54 severely limits the range of the router. Change to auto and see if that helps.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-09-2008
Message 13 of 24
(8,343 Views)
I'm noticing lots of lag today.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-16-2008
Message 14 of 24
(8,214 Views)
I live in MD and have the 15/2 setup recently started having the same problems.  I run the speedtest and it gives me the desired speed, run it 5min later and it is a totally diffrent story. I noticed that this started around the time they changed the channel lineup in my area.  I have this issue with my PS3, Laptop and a PC that directly connected.  I got a new router, and a tech came out and still I have the same problems.  I dont know if the service is dropping because of the demand is greater than the technology (gradually slowing down their network).  If so will they admit it or just keep running us around like they have been doing with me.  I have enjoyed several months with great service and now have been with poor service for the last 3 months. 
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 15 of 24
(8,169 Views)
It didn't help changing to auto from 54. Verizon tech support please give us your assessment of this unpleasant inconvenience.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 16 of 24
(8,095 Views)

@JKennedy wrote:

And I thought it was just me.  I usually power cycle everything and it's OK then.  But if what y'all are seeing is what I am, everything is fine, then all of a sudden, no matter what browser, loading pages just dies and usually ended up with either a network time out or server response error (can't remember which).  I've noticed it may be 10 seconds or 10 minutes later that everything clears up and starts popping again.

 

We've got 15/2 (about to be converted to the new bundle which includes 20/5) and usually see good speeds, but that doen't show the whole picture.  I will however, be glad if we do actually get better up stream speeds.  Better downstream will be a bonus though.


i am having the EXACT same problem for a month now or so.  I figured it would go away on its own, but it's not.  I live in southern California and this is very frustrating.  The techs around here can't do much for me, maybe I should just cancel my service and go with another ISP.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 17 of 24
(8,088 Views)
Post your speed test, how your PC is connected wireless, or wired, How your IP is static, or DHCP, what browsers you are using, Specs of your PC, and when was your PC last formatted. 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 18 of 24
(8,065 Views)
I'm having the same issue, 20 down 5 up plan though I'm lucky to get 11 up.  On actual file downloads, not tests, I get 180 - 220 kbps.  Called Fios tech support, they have no idea what's wrong.
Message Edited by Pax277 on 11-19-2008 12:52 PM
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
Message 19 of 24
(8,051 Views)
I just changed my Transmission Rate from 54 to Auto and drastically increased my speed. I did three different online spped tests and they all show me at 19.3 mbps or higher for download and 4.8 mbps for upload. This is in Venice, CA.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 20 of 24
(8,041 Views)
I am in Newport News, VA. I am signed up for 20/5. Tonight at 9:25 I consistently got 14.5/4.5 on Speedtest. I am running wirelessly on a new iMac. Computer is <10 feet from the infamous Actiontec router.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.