Issues with Actiontec Router & Panasonic Viera Connect or Viera Cast
drbellard
Enthusiast - Level 2

So my wireless connection between the two was working fine; when on or about 5/21, I could connect to router, but not to Viera Cast.  I ran the test and it would stop at "Acquire IP address from Router."  It could not get beyond that.  I have no idea why this thing worked flawlessly for almost a year.

After going through the forums, I found a solution:

Go to Network Settings on TV:

IP: 192.168.1.25 (or any number did is within the range, or doesn't conflict with any other devices plugged into your router)
Sub Net: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS: 192.168.1.1
Sec DNS: (leave blank)

It worked perfectly and so far so good.  I'm fairly new at messing with router things, but this didn't require that I reset anything with my router, just the TV.

Hope this helps someone because I was going nuts trying to figure this thing out.

1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Issues with Actiontec Router & Panasonic Viera Connect or Viera Cast
tns
Master - Level 2

First  you probably could try and go back to DHCP having the Actiontec assign the address.  Note for my Samsung's, they sometime become hung up trying to use a previously assigned address after the lease has expired.  I break them of it by assigning an address, and then going back to automatic address assignment.

To change to WPA2 or WPA(highly recommended) see

http://www22.verizon.com/Support/Residential/Internet/fiosinternet/networking/setup/security/125521....

WPA2 is by far the preferred security.  WPA/WPA2 is next preferred. WPA with tkip is breakable with some effort. WEP is down right broken security.

To change to a static address such as 192.168.1.200,