Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Reply
jpotter310
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 1 of 11
(1,004 Views)
As the title states, I got fios installed today. The Internet works, sometimes...it loads mod pages but there are plenty that it will completely mess up. All pictures are mostly loaded 50%, sometimes HTML doesn't load and sites are impossible to view. I can refresh and it will fix some, but most sites won't budge. Has anyone encountered this before and how did you resolve it? I called support and they just said that its my computer and not the service. My computer was hooked up on Comcast 2 days ago and loaded all of this stuff perfectly fine.
10 REPLIES 10
acras
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-29-2013

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 2 of 11
(957 Views)

There response is always that the problem is your computer, your best chance is to Google your problem and find non Verizon forum discussions about the issue and possible solutions. I'm going 6 days with very slow connection and every time I talk to them they try to" optimize" my computer to sees if that fixes their slowdown. Doesn't matter to them that the slowdown effects 2pc's, 3 android devices, 1ps and a Linux box, wired and wireless. Even after they admitted there was an outrage in my area, they still insinuated that it might be my devices.

First option for you, power down your router , unplug the power for a couple minutes, then turn it back on. There a forum,  DSL something( not sure now of the name, I googled DSL forums) that seemed to have some good responses.  I'll see if I can find the page and edit my post when I'm back at my PC.  Good luck

matt_g
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-12-2010

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 3 of 11
(941 Views)

I'm in the DFW area and having very similar problems. Internal network is working great, Internet service over the past week has been horrible. Wired and wireless, PC, laptop, mobile devices...very degraded service. Talked to support and it was determined my old Westell router was no longer supported. Got the new router today...everything hooked up and still the same issues.

 

Seeing a lot of packetloss when doing tracerts, but no loss until 3-4 hops outside from my Fios router. Really dreading calling support again. Trying to re-explain everything.

jpotter310
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 4 of 11
(899 Views)
I checked your website suggestion through a google search. I see a lot of issues that people are having, but they are not very similar to mine. So let me clarify a bit:

My Internet connection works. Downloads are still up to speed. There are some sites such as hrblock.com that will not load, though. If I refresh the page, sometimes it will load it, but it won't be formatted so it it unusable. Other times when I refresh it will say it cannot load the page. Then sometimes it will stay blank. And the oddest one is that occasionally after pressing refresh, my browser tries to download the page for offline viewing. This is not just limited to hrblock.com. I went to speedtest.net before anything and it won't load the program at all. I get a blank square.

Images do not load properly on these sites as well. The top quarter is usually fine, but then it gets all black and white and multicolored fuzz (like old tvs when channel is out).

My update for today is that I tried keeping my router unplugged last night until this morning to reset the IP. Computer is still doing the same thing. iPad and iPhone are loading everything fine now though.

This makes me believe that it is possiblyy computer. I tried to do a restore and it did not resolve anything. I tried to reinstall OS (windows 😎 but it won't let me. It says I am missing some files. I downloaded the OS installer and it won't let me open it to download.

Overall I'm saying something may have happened to my pc in transit from my old place (I just moved a couple days before installation). Would like to hear what you think though.
jpotter310
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 5 of 11
(881 Views)
Not trying to be a nudge but this needs a bump. I see other posts receiving comments and help but mine isn't getting any attention today. It's important to be to resolve this issue I have.
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 6 of 11
(838 Views)

@acras wrote:

 

First option for you, power down your router , unplug the power for a couple minutes, then turn it back on. There a forum,  DSL something( not sure now of the name, I googled DSL forums) that seemed to have some good responses.  I'll see if I can find the page and edit my post when I'm back at my PC.  Good luck


dslreports.com

 

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 7 of 11
(835 Views)

What browser are you running?  

Do you have the correct version of Java installed?

 

You can refresh the ip address by reasing the current dhcp address and then turning off the routre for 10 minutes or so - typically that is long enough.

To release the current IP address on the router

log on to it

select my network

select network connections

select the "connected" broadband connection

select configure connection

select release under the dhcp lease line

select apply

 

Turn off the router wait 10 minutes or so then power it on and check to see if you got a new ip address.

 

jpotter310
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 8 of 11
(820 Views)
I used Chrome and IE. Same issue on both. There is an update for Java available but every time I try to install it it says a file is corrupt.

I unplugged my router overnight and plugged it in the next morning. Didn't check to see if I got a new IP.

I swapped the Ethernet cable to my fiancée's computer this morning and am having the same issues on her pc. So it obviously isn't my computer. I am going to switch the Ethernet cable later and see if it is a faulty cable or something.
topdog
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 588
Registered: ‎12-22-2009

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 9 of 11
(785 Views)

Why don't you try going to add ons and disabling Java.  Then see if you still have the problem.  If you don't then Java was causing it.

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Just got Fios today...Internet is causing some issues

Message 10 of 11
(745 Views)

I'd venture to say that if it is any sort of plug-in issue, it would be with Flash if it was auto-updated through the Adobe Updater or newer versions of Java where the "Are you sure you wish to run this?" prompt gets buried beneath the web browser.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.