Re: Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability
agent0071
Enthusiast - Level 2

David,

Any router that can act as a repeater is vulnerable. The quote "routers are not vulnerable" is factually incorrect.

"All Verizon routers are not vulnerable." is a different quote, and implies that no verizon router can act as a repeater or uses 802.11r. Given that Verizon sells repeaters to extend wifi range, and I'm not a verizon engineer, I'll just have to take Verizon's word for it. If only they would issue a formal statement.

0 Likes
DavidK11

If anyone ever sees any official public statements from Verizon on this, please post it to this thread to help give it some visibility.

0 Likes
Re: Krack
jonjones1
Legend

@HF wrote:

Jon, your faith in Verizon's ability to pro-actively protect us is _so_ much greater than mine.

Maybe because it is not the router itself that the vulnerability lies that makes me feel better. Netgear sent out emails to their customers stating to update the firmware and to first check if it is affected in the firmware update. My Nighthawk was not affected.

everyone should just relax.

0 Likes
jonjones1
Legend
0 Likes
JDSBlueDevl

I just talked to someone in tech support. He said that the Actiontec is quite old and may not get patched. That has me upset, as I do not want to be forced to pay for Quantum (which will inevitably get patched). Why should I have to pay for someone else's mistake?

0 Likes
Does Verizon have a router update for KRACKs?
jisaac100

I was reading about the new threat called KRACKs and understand I need to make sure I have the latest firmware for my router. How do I find the firmware and install it? I am on FIOS and have an ACTIONTEC M1424WR router.

0 Likes
denison4
Enthusiast - Level 2