Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability

Reply
tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Router Firmware Update for KRACK Vulnerability

Message 51 of 57
(3,766 Views)

Official word from Actiontec on its routers.

 

"DATED 10/24/2017

Actiontec is aware of the industry-wide KRACK vulnerability affecting Wi-Fi Protected Access protocol standards (i.e. WPA/WPA2).

Our customers are our highest priority, and our goal is to provide you with timely information to ensure that your home network is as safe as possible.

If your Wi-Fi router or network extender was provided by your service provider (i.e. Bell Canada, CenturyLink, Cox, Dish, Google, Frontier, MTS, SaskTel, TDS, Telus, Verizon, Windstream), it is not affected by the KRACK vulnerability, and no firmware update is required. These products do not operate in repeater mode and do not have 802.11r FT enabled."

micheal154
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-30-2014

Re: Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability

Message 52 of 57
(3,471 Views)

sounds like **bleep** to me...

 but ok...

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability

Message 53 of 57
(3,448 Views)

@micheal154 wrote:

sounds like **bleep** to me...

 but ok...


It is amazing some folks just can’t handle the truth. There is no conspiracy to not update firmware. But if it isn’t broke you don’t fix it. ☃️

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability

Message 54 of 57
(3,373 Views)

As identified in the detailed doc on Krack only a few functions on routers have the exposure.  And most of the basic routers out there don't support them.

 

On the other hand your devices that aren't patched are more vulnerable.  More of that on Verizon Wireless.  E.g. My Verizon Samsun Galaxy S7 edge was just updated earlier this Month.  Not sure if any of Verizon Residential products connect to router using WPA2, but if so those are the ones that are vulnerable.

 

The whole thing about Krack is it tries to fake out a device asking for a WPA/WPA2 connection and insert inself in your network between your device and your router.

Bixbyte
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability

Message 55 of 57
(3,337 Views)

SO EAZY to KRACK Verizon.

I hear 'they' is getting ready to sell a totally different newer Router.

I visited this website that checks your security and I am not able to post their link but you can private email me and maybe VZ will allow me to post their link?

Verizon's job is to protect your privacy as they claim.

There is one issue that really has me worried. 

The privacy website shows me publically listed as 

(MY ISP NUMBER) (MY CITY) (MY STATE) (at FIOS)

And the security firm claims that is totally legal.

THEN I asked them for what info can be harvested off me on the net.

They gave me my bank account name and my unique MAC Address that the 

bank uses just for my presonal bank account.

And there is lots of other info that is available since they know my ISP and my location and that I am a FIOS customer. 

The only way I can imagine getting rid of people that are trying to mine your private information is to beg your internet company to change your ISP or close your account and open a new internet with the same or a different provider???? 

Bixbyte
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: WPA2 Hack

Message 56 of 57
(3,337 Views)

Turn OFF your Universal Plug and Play, turn off Ping, and use a good Firewall.

And they can still KRACK Your Router but it will help. 

FireFish
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-05-2009

Re: Krack Attack WPA2 vulnerability

Message 57 of 57
(2,930 Views)

 


@jonjones wrote:

1-800-VERIZON

they are the only ones that can tell you.

this is a customer to customer forum.


translation: NO

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title