Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Reply
SJO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2011

Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 1 of 12
(3,687 Views)

FiOS installed on Friday - works great on both of our desktops( connected to router via Ethernet), but not on our laptop. 

 

The laptop connects to the router (via either Ethernet or wireless) but will not connect to the internet.  Any suggestions?

11 REPLIES 11
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 2 of 12
(3,680 Views)

Open up Command Prompt on the laptop and type in the following command:

 

ipconfig

 

Look for the Interface (Wireless Network Connection) that your laptop is using to connect to the router wirelessly, and take a look at it's IP address, Subnet Mask and Default Gateway. The Default Gateway should be 192.168.1.1 . The Subnet Mask should be 255.255.255.0 . The IP address can be anything in the 192.168.1.*** range, but it must not be a 169.254.*.* address. Please tell us what you find.

 

To open Command Prompt, you can launch it by typing in "cmd" under Run in the Start Menu, or by searching for it using the Start Menu Search box, if you have Windows Vista or Windows 7.

SJO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2011

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 3 of 12
(3,675 Views)

IPv4 Address 192.168.1.78

Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway 192.168.1.1

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 4 of 12
(3,668 Views)

That information looks good. What happens when you type in the below command? You should get 4 pings returned, and it should also return back with an IP address. If possible, post up the results you get from the command. You can select the results by right clicking the Command Window and choosing "Select All" or by choosing Mark and selecting what you want to Paste, and then press Enter to copy the results. From there just paste the results to a post.

 

ping www.google.com

SJO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2011

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 5 of 12
(3,665 Views)

Pinging www.google.com [188.229.89.121] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.

Request timed out.

Request timed out.

Request timed out.

 

Ping statistics for 188.229.89.121:

Packets: Sent = 4, Recieved = 0, Lost = 4 ,100% loss>,

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 6 of 12
(3,630 Views)

Try pinging 192.168.1.1 instead of www.google.com . Do you get any reply back?

 

If you do get a reply back, the IP address your laptop is returning doesn't even belong to Google. I'm suspicious about it since it is showing the typical signs of a malware infection. The IP address is located in Romania, which certainly is not right. If your router replies back, using another PC, download SUPERAntiSpyware Portable ( http://superantispyware.com/portablescanner.html?tag=SAS_HOMEPAGE ) and burn it to a CD. Insert the CD into the laptop and run the Portable Application. Disconnect your laptop from the network.

 

Once SUPERAntiSpyware is up and running, perform a full scan, and using SAS, remove any infection once the scan has been completed. Tracking Cookies, FYI, are not infections but are considered unwanted items, for a very good reason. They can be removed as well.

 

If SAS cleans up infections or the machine comes back clean, next, perform the following steps:

 

Open your Control Panel and locate the Internet Options. In the Internet Options, choose the Connection Tab, and then choose the LAN Settings button. On the window that appears, make sure none of the check boxes are checked, and nothing is filled in for a proxy. Press OK and then press OK out of the Internet Options. Use this image as a reference... http://seansite.dyndns.org/downloads/vz/lansettings.png . If you are using any other browser, such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari or Opera, please check the Browser's settings to ensure it is not using a proxy or it is set to use "Direct Connection."

 

Next, based on what Operating System you are running, do the following:

 

If you are running Windows XP or older, go to Start, choose Run, and then enter in "cmd" into the Run window. Press OK and you should see Command prompt open.

 

If you are running Windows Vista or Windows 7, use the Start Menu search bar to search for cmd. When the cmd application appears, right click the application and choose "Run as Adminstrator." Click past any UAC Prompts asking Yes/No with the option of "Yes."

 

In the Command Prompt, enter in this command followed by pressing Enter (do this carefully! Command lines are powerful tools😞 Use this image as a reference... http://seansite.dyndns.org/downloads/vz/notepadhosts.png

 

notepad C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

 

 

Once Notepad has opened, compare your HOSTS file with my copy, pasted below:

 


# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost
::1             localhost


If your HOSTS file has any extra entries, remove the entries that are not shown in my file. Once this is done, save the file using Notepad and exit. If the file fails to save stating Access Denied or it is marked as Read Only, ensure that you have opened Notepad under Command Prompt via Administrator. If the file is Read Only, you will need to do the following:

 

Open up My Computer, and open the Folder Options from the "Tools" menu. If you are using Windows Vista or Windows 7, you will need to press your Alt key to make this appear. From there, go to the ViewTab and enable the viewing of Hidden Files and Folders. From here, go to My Computer, click C drive, click the Windows Folder, click the system32 folder, click the drivers folder, and lastly click the etc folder. From there, locate the file called "hosts" and right click it, then choose Properties. In the Properties Window, uncheck the check box for the file being read only, and also uncheck the box for making the file hidden, if it is checked, then press OK. Go back to the Folder Options/View tab and disable the viewing of hidden Files/Folders, and press OK. From here, you should be able to edit the hosts file as an Administrator.

 

Connect the PC to your network and attempt to use the Internet. Report back using one of your other PCs on how things went.

SJO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2011

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 7 of 12
(3,624 Views)

I do get a response when pinging 192.168.1.1:

 

"Pining 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

 

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received =4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in mili-seconds:

    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 1ms"

 

I unfortunately cannot run SAS at the moment - this is an employer-owned laptop on shich I do not have Admin-level access.

 

I did look at the HOSTS file, the only difference compared to yours is an additional line just above "127.0.0.1       localhost" reading:

"localhost name resolution is handles within DNS itself." - Is this a problematic entry, or can it be something inserted to enable VPN for my employer's use?

SJO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2011

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 8 of 12
(3,624 Views)

I do get a response when pinging 192.168.1.1:

 

"Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

 

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received =4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in mili-seconds:

    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 1ms"

 

I unfortunately cannot run SAS at the moment - this is an employer-owned laptop on which I do not have Admin-level access.

 

I did look at the HOSTS file, the only difference compared to yours is an additional line just above "127.0.0.1       localhost" reading:

"localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself." - Is this a problematic entry, or can it be something inserted to enable VPN for my employer's use?

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 9 of 12
(3,611 Views)

Since this is an employer's laptop, I would ask them for help about it. They might have some special settings on the machine that might be changed if they for example, use VPN or that restrict network access when using specific Wireless settings if we proceed further. But since the laptop is able to ping the router, it's network connection to the router is good and working. DNS is working, but is resolving to some funny addresses that do not seem right at all. Do other PCs in your home resolve Google to the same IP? You can use Command Prompt on the PCs and run the following command:

 

nslookup www.google.com

 

It will give a readout of a few Google IPs that are returned. The hosts file entry you're talking about is fine. It is most likely commented anyways. Though I do not use Verizon's DNS servers, I use another provider called OpenDNS. Here is a through readout of what I receive. Your results might be different, but the IPs should be within specific blocks in reality (even though Google owns a ton of blocks).

 


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\>nslookup -d www.google.com
------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 1, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 1,  authority records = 0,  additional = 0

    QUESTIONS:
        222.222.67.208.in-addr.arpa, type = PTR, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  222.222.67.208.in-addr.arpa
        name = resolver1.opendns.com
        ttl = 604674 (6 days 23 hours 57 mins 54 secs)

------------
Server:  resolver1.opendns.com
Address:  208.67.222.222

------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 7,  authority records = 0,  additional = 0

    QUESTIONS:
        www.google.com, type = A, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  www.google.com
        canonical name = www.l.google.com
        ttl = 604181 (6 days 23 hours 49 mins 41 secs)
    ->  www.l.google.com
        internet address = 74.125.115.99
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)
    ->  www.l.google.com
        internet address = 74.125.115.106
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)
    ->  www.l.google.com
        internet address = 74.125.115.104
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)
    ->  www.l.google.com
        internet address = 74.125.115.105
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)
    ->  www.l.google.com
        internet address = 74.125.115.147
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)
    ->  www.l.google.com
        internet address = 74.125.115.103
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)

------------
Non-authoritative answer:
------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 3, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 1,  authority records = 0,  additional = 0

    QUESTIONS:
        www.google.com, type = AAAA, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  www.google.com
        canonical name = www.l.google.com
        ttl = 604181 (6 days 23 hours 49 mins 41 secs)

------------
Name:    www.l.google.com
Addresses:  74.125.115.99
          74.125.115.106
          74.125.115.104
          74.125.115.105
          74.125.115.147
          74.125.115.103
Aliases:  www.google.com


C:\Users\>nslookup -d ipv6.google.com
------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 1, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 1,  authority records = 0,  additional = 0

    QUESTIONS:
        222.222.67.208.in-addr.arpa, type = PTR, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  222.222.67.208.in-addr.arpa
        name = resolver1.opendns.com
        ttl = 604604 (6 days 23 hours 56 mins 44 secs)

------------
Server:  resolver1.opendns.com
Address:  208.67.222.222

------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 1,  authority records = 0,  additional = 0

    QUESTIONS:
        ipv6.google.com, type = A, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  ipv6.google.com
        canonical name = ipv6.l.google.com
        ttl = 604800 (7 days)

------------
Non-authoritative answer:
------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 3, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 2,  authority records = 0,  additional = 0

    QUESTIONS:
        ipv6.google.com, type = AAAA, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  ipv6.google.com
        canonical name = ipv6.l.google.com
        ttl = 604800 (7 days)
    ->  ipv6.l.google.com
        AAAA IPv6 address = 2001:4860:800e::93
        ttl = 300 (5 mins)

------------
Name:    ipv6.l.google.com
Address:  2001:4860:800e::93
Aliases:  ipv6.google.com


C:\Users\>



SJO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2011

Re: Laptop connects to router but not to internet

Message 10 of 12
(3,608 Views)

I get 74.125.93.99, 74.125.93.106, 74.125.93.103, 74.125.93.147, 74.125.93.104, 74.125.93.105 when I try it on my desktop...

 

All in all, though, whether or not there is a malware / redirect issue on the laptop, any idea of why the laptop would be connecting to the router but not to the internet at all? It's not like it's going to the internet but not to the right website...

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.