×

Switch Account

Latency via Level3

Reply
Contributor infostruction
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-30-2014
Message 1 of 20
(2,386 Views)

Please investigate recent latency in peering to Level3. Reported this issue to customer service but they were unable to do anything to help.

 

Connections that were taking 40ms prior are now over 130ms on a daily basis. This makes my VPN, VOIP and other services unusable. Note that this is 6 hops up from my network and the rest of those points are very low latency.

 

Only the traffic taking the Level3 path is impacted and it has been for days straight.

 

This is a trace. you can clearly see an issue with the connection from Level3 to vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.138.222]

 

  6    15 ms    13 ms    13 ms  0.xe-8-0-0.BR1.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.16.65]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8   125 ms   150 ms   125 ms  vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.138.222]

 

Found multiple posts on the web about this issue as well.

 

 

19 REPLIES 19
Highlighted
Copper Contributor shadezero
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-24-2012
Message 2 of 20
(2,381 Views)

 just to tell you your not the only one. It's So annoying and i can't get to play some games like Dota 2 I think it's Verizon routing, but when am on my mumble server on the west coast and i normally get 90 to 70 ping now I get 166.


Code:
Tracing route to a208-78-164-1.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [208.78.164.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12   105 ms   107 ms   104 ms  a208-78-164-1.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [208.78.164.1]

Trace complete.
Highlighted
Contributor mikeb3186
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-30-2014
Message 3 of 20
(2,358 Views)

This is absolutely an issue occuring recently for only eastern verizon customers.  Below is one single example of an issue that's been happening for a week or so.  The following example has all firewalls and virus scan disabled and I had a friend (on comcast) connected to the same server perfectly.

 

Here is a thread full of other people with the same issue:

http://www.reddit.com/r/GlobalOffensive/comments/23zk49/people_that_are_using_fios_or_just_verizon_a...

 

Please fix this, I have no problem switching to comcast if this issue persists.

 

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Administrator>tracert 208.78.166.89

Tracing route to a208-78-166-89.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [208.78.166
.89]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 18 ms 17 ms 18 ms L100.BSTNMA-VFTTP-111.verizon-gni.net {edited for privacy}
3 21 ms 19 ms 19 ms G0-15-2-0.BSTNMA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [100.41.
196.150]
4 19 ms 39 ms 19 ms ae10-0.BOS-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.163.1
72]
5 33 ms * * 0.ae11.XL4.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.20.117]
6 28 ms 28 ms 28 ms 0.xe-9-0-0.BR1.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.19.213]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 171 ms 172 ms 169 ms vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.138.222]
9 169 ms 169 ms 172 ms ae-37-37.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.8
9]
10 158 ms 161 ms 159 ms ae-72-72.csw2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
50]
11 173 ms 171 ms 174 ms ae-2-70.edge2.Washington4.Level3.net [4.69.149.8
0]
12 121 ms 121 ms 123 ms 4.53.114.114

Highlighted
Copper Contributor erouterzone-inc
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-27-2014
Message 4 of 20
(2,341 Views)

Its been like this for months......

Written letter to the Board of Directors, Called IP NOC, opened tickets......

 

nothing.... I have no issues at this point in switching back also.

 

Verizon is the only company who actually doesnt let static PEERING entries in their core routers.

 

Strange because if level3.net is so messed up just peer us up to cogent or someone else.

 

All my customers are on Cogent and I just dont get why Verizon wont take my subnet and PEER it up with cogent.

 

Optonline, Lightpath and comcast dont have these issues.

 

amaizing... even for a business customer with a 150 over 65 G-Pon network

but only gets 12 down and 6up.

Highlighted
Contributor rogue3092
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2014
Message 5 of 20
(2,264 Views)

Same problem here. 

 

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
2 8 ms 9 ms 7 ms L100.BSTNMA-VFTTP-168.verizon-gni.net [108.20.48
1]
3 11 ms 16 ms 10 ms G0-3-5-2.BSTNMA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1
9.34]
4 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms ae10-0.BOS-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.163.1
2]
5 * 20 ms 18 ms 0.ae11.XL4.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.20.117]
6 15 ms 17 ms 17 ms 0.xe-11-0-0.BR1.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.19.217]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 111 ms 111 ms 114 ms vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.138.222]
9 116 ms 118 ms 117 ms ae-40-40.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.201.9
]
10 109 ms 107 ms 105 ms ae-82-82.csw3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
4]
11 107 ms 106 ms 111 ms ae-3-80.edge2.Washington4.Level3.net [4.69.149.1
4]
12 99 ms 97 ms 96 ms 4.53.114.114

 

I'll be switching to Comcast if this does not get resolved.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor chrisjbuckley
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-21-2013
Message 6 of 20
(2,245 Views)
Highlighted
Contributor kifae
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
Message 7 of 20
(2,221 Views)

I contacted verizon twice via chat.

They said its not their side problem.

 

I am using fios 75/30

I cant play below 100+ ping unless it is 1AM or more for weeks.

Been playing this game over 14 years just fine, thinking to get TWC. Its not as fast but I game fine there.

 

All my friends in NYC plays fine. But few have the same problem.. and guess what they have FIOS.

I dont know why fios tech keep telling me its not their side problem while everyone with the problem is FIOS customer.

 

There are post about the same problem in steam forums and reddit.

I wonder what will it take for the guys from Verizon to do something about it.

 

I say they get a week from now from me to do something or at least acknowledge the problem.

I am preparing a campaigne and going to spread this matter on all gaming forums otherwise.

and yeah.. I heard TWC wideband is better now.

 

=\

Highlighted
Copper Contributor erouterzone-inc
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-27-2014
Message 8 of 20
(2,164 Views)
I agree TWC has gotten better
just today I went to a buddy who has business class static IP and did the same tracert
they don't even use level3 nor have to go all the way to VA and back just to reach a NYC server

Verizon called me yesterday to update me that they are working on the issue but
honestly my one call to complain isn't going to fix this otherwise it would have been resolved months ago
It's a shame VZ plays games but TWC is offering good rates for speeds over 85mb
at this point I would pay more just to get what I need.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 9 of 20
(2,135 Views)

FYI, looks like a bunch of places that used to route through Level3 for me are now routing through less Level3 points or none at all at least for one way of the trip. That's as of today. Any improvements for you guys?

 

 

Tracing route to ds-any-fp3-real.wa1.b.yahoo.com [98.139.183.24]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2     8 ms     7 ms     7 ms  10.41.13.1
  3    13 ms     8 ms    15 ms  P0-0-1-1.BFLONY-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.136.28]
  4    21 ms    21 ms    22 ms  ae6-0.NY325-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.209.36]
  5    21 ms    22 ms    22 ms  0.xe-8-0-0.BR3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.23.241]
  6   140 ms   205 ms   206 ms  204.255.168.194
  7    32 ms    83 ms    31 ms  64.215.30.22
  8    80 ms    32 ms    85 ms  ae-3.pat2.bfz.yahoo.com [216.115.97.209]
  9    35 ms    30 ms    35 ms  ae-4.msr2.bf1.yahoo.com [216.115.100.73]
 10    33 ms    49 ms    31 ms  UNKNOWN-98-139-232-X.yahoo.com [98.139.232.107]
 11    36 ms    35 ms    32 ms  et-18-25.fab5-1-gdc.bf1.yahoo.com [98.139.128.61]
 12    33 ms    33 ms    31 ms  po-13.bas2-7-prd.bf1.yahoo.com [98.139.129.211]
 13    32 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ir2.fp.vip.bf1.yahoo.com [98.139.183.24]
 
 
 Tracing route to tf22fortinstant.sourceop.com [67.228.59.146]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2     8 ms     9 ms     7 ms  10.41.13.1
  3     8 ms    14 ms    10 ms  P0-0-0-1.BFLONY-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.33.240]
  4    20 ms    23 ms    23 ms  ae6-0.NY325-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.209.36]
  5    22 ms    23 ms    21 ms  0.xe-9-0-0.BR3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.23.181]
  6    26 ms    21 ms    22 ms  204.255.169.234
  7    24 ms    28 ms    26 ms  ae-3.r05.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.204]
  8    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  xe-1-0-0.bbr01.tl01.nyc01.networklayer.com [165.254.16.2]
  9    28 ms    26 ms    24 ms  ae7.bbr02.tl01.nyc01.networklayer.com [173.192.18.177]
 10    32 ms    32 ms    31 ms  ae1.bbr01.eq01.chi01.networklayer.com [173.192.18.132]
 11    55 ms    55 ms    57 ms  ae20.bbr01.eq01.dal03.networklayer.com [173.192.18.136]
 12    65 ms    57 ms    59 ms  ae0.dar02.sr01.dal01.networklayer.com [173.192.18.253]
 13    56 ms    56 ms    58 ms  po2.fcr05.sr06.dal01.networklayer.com [66.228.118.223]
 14    55 ms    55 ms    55 ms  tf22fortinstant.sourceop.com [67.228.59.146]

Trace complete.

Tracing route to dslreports-west1.speakeasy.net [64.81.79.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2     8 ms     8 ms     7 ms  10.41.13.1
  3     9 ms    10 ms     8 ms  P0-0-1-1.BFLONY-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.136.28]
  4    19 ms    20 ms    44 ms  ae6-0.NY325-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.209.36]
  5    19 ms    20 ms    19 ms  0.xe-8-0-0.BR3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.23.241]
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7    42 ms    43 ms    44 ms  vlan51.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.138.222]
  8    64 ms    43 ms    44 ms  ae-37-37.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.89]
  9    47 ms    42 ms    44 ms  ae-92-92.csw4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.158]
 10   207 ms    96 ms    42 ms  ae-41-90.car1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.149.195]
 11    41 ms    41 ms    43 ms  ge1-1.bbsr1.iad.megapath.net [166.90.148.2]
 12    43 ms    44 ms    44 ms  66.80.128.61
 13    89 ms    91 ms    94 ms  ae3-0.snvacaid-mxc1.bb.megapath.net [155.229.57.117]
 14    86 ms   101 ms    89 ms  be911.snvacaid-asr1.bb.megapath.net [155.229.70.102]
 15    90 ms    88 ms    86 ms  dslreports-west1.speakeasy.net [64.81.79.40]

Trace complete.

 

Highlighted
Contributor infostruction
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-30-2014
Message 10 of 20
(2,124 Views)

Seems to be resolved now.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.