SOLVED
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Lost my network lock!

Message 1 of 3
(505 Views)

Hi everybody!

I downloaded In-House Agent to change the password on my router, and when I did so, I lost my network lock.

I have an Actiontec MI424-WR WEP exncryption.  I received an email from Verizon to change my security to WPA2, but it didn't give me the option of doing so.  I thought that by changing my WEP KEY Password, it would suffice,  Guess not.  I guess it goes without saying, that I am a novice at this sort of thing.

Should I just go back in and put the information in that I had before, or what?

Another thing: when I try to type in my user name and password (to get into the router) everytime I type the password, it keeps adding characters that I did not type.  For instance, when I type one character, three will default, which makes my password much longer than it is, and therefore useless as far as access is concerned.  I wish I could explain it better. 

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII

Re: Lost my network lock!

Message 2 of 3
(496 Views)

The extra characters are a security feature. Just ignore them and type your password as normal.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII

Message 2 of 3
(497 Views)

The extra characters are a security feature. Just ignore them and type your password as normal.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Message 3 of 3
(442 Views)
Hi Telcoguru,